Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

RE: When?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> RE: When? Page: <<   < prev  91 92 [93] 94 95   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
RE: When? - 6/5/2012 2:27:48 AM   
TemujinOz

quote:

ORIGINAL: GordianKnot

As a developer, I'm going to guess that one of the biggest roadblocks to getting this done quickly has been of all things the game options. Having so many options creates a huge development and testing challenge. In fact this game has so many options its probably impossible to test them all. If you have 50 different options and they are all binary (true or false) that's 2^50 or 1,125,899,906,842,624 possible combinations!

This is a key point in any development. I've been working on a new patch for WiE-win lately, and in the forums for that game there has been a lot of discussion on possible changes, additions and corrections. Many times there's a request for an "option" to be added, to allow players to choose how they want to approach a given issue.

I've had to point out more than once that although 'options' seem like a great way to solve any discussion/dispute (or to add new features), there are really two costs associated with adding an option - first, the immediate cost in time required to design and write the code; second, the future cost in increased complexity and testing that each option brings. In simplistic terms, as GordianKnot says, every binary option doubles the possible execution paths through the code. It doesn't take many options to quickly reach a point where "full testing of all combinations" is not possible. "Options breed bugs"...

(in reply to mavraamides)
Post #: 2761