Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Simple Question

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [American Civil War] >> Forge of Freedom: The American Civil War 1861-1865 >> Simple Question Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Simple Question - 6/9/2008 9:05:12 PM   
jhnbaker41

I am a newbie to this game and am just learning the basics. I would like to understand the meaning of Container units. It says that these units do not have military capabilities per sey so are they use as a storehouse to disperse troops and how does one accomplish this?
Post #: 1
RE: Simple Question - 6/10/2008 6:13:15 AM   
haruntaiwan

Think of them as adminstrative units, like a holding company that has many subsidiaries below it. They don't serve any purposes except organizationally.

(in reply to jhnbaker41)
Post #: 2
RE: Simple Question - 6/10/2008 10:44:11 AM   
Gil R.

(Moved thread to main part of the forum, since the "War Room" is only for strategy discussions.)

You're missing a key element of containers: they each have a logistics and command rating, representing the quality of the staff officers. You really need to pay attention to these ratings, because they have a significant impact. (See "Staff Ratings" in the manual.)

(in reply to haruntaiwan)
Post #: 3
RE: Simple Question - 6/10/2008 8:24:38 PM   
jhnbaker41

I know this is still a dumb question but what is the purpose of the container unit? Can you use it to engage the enemy? Sorry I am at a loss. Someone said that it is an administrative unit???

(in reply to Gil R.)
Post #: 4
RE: Simple Question - 6/10/2008 10:05:32 PM   
morganbj