Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

How is AI, thinking of buying.

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [American Civil War] >> John Tiller's Battleground Series >> How is AI, thinking of buying. Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
How is AI, thinking of buying. - 2/20/2010 11:14:31 PM   
Grim.Reaper

Thinking of buying the civil war version, but have seen various posts about the AI not being that good. I would only play against the AI, so is it still worth it? I'm not an expert at wargames, but don't want the AI to be completely dumb either.
Post #: 1
RE: How is AI, thinking of buying. - 2/21/2010 2:08:27 AM   
rhondabrwn

The AI is not that good, but it isn't completely stupid either. You will usually win, but it's still fun. I played many games of Gettysburg against the AI and often managed to completely destroy the opposing army, down to the last regiment (yea, I was sadistic that way). It was an opponent, however :)

Actually, AI in the HPS Civil War Campaign series is completely ineffective in their campaign games. To my dismay, that AI can't even maintain command control. Units seem to move randomly and do not even try to maintain contact with other units in their Brigade. The Matrix/Talonsoft games manage to at least do that! HPS has added some specific scenarios in the latest games that are programmed to give you a tough battle against the AI. I haven't tried them as they are small scenarios and I prefer HUGE campaign games personally.