Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Two Questions

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815 >> Two Questions Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Two Questions - 12/18/2007 5:00:18 PM   
Alan_Bernardo

 

Posts: 204
Joined: 5/17/2002
From: Bowling Green, Ohio
Status: offline
I have two questions that need clarification.

First, what is needed to free a conquered minor country? On page 41 of the manual, it says: "Major Powers can declare that any of their conquered minor countries that can have corps are now minor Free States."

As Prussia I am trying to declare a conquered minor country as free, but get the message "Cannot perform on this minor this phase."

I've just begun the Diplomacy phase and have made no moves toward any minors or major powers. In the selected conquered nation's information box, it says "2/1" under Money/Manpower. Does this mean that the minor can build a corps and as such has met what appears to be the only restriction to creating a free state?

My second questions deals with attempting to influence a minor country already under the influence of another major power.

I am trying to influence one minor which is currently a French ally and another minor that is French influenced. When I select the minor and then select the button "Attempt to manipulate minor nation", I get the message that a diplomatic team has been dispatched. Why am I not getting the screen that allows me to change the "investment modifier"? I have money in the bank.


Thanks,

Alan
Post #: 1
RE: Two Questions - 12/18/2007 5:10:55 PM   
Marshall Ellis


Posts: 5630
Joined: 10/2/2001
From: Dallas
Status: offline
Alan:

Good questions.

1. The minor nation needs to have corps counters available in order for you to declare it a freestate. Not all minors have these counters available. Which are you dealing with?

2. You are not allowed to add money when attempting to manipulate another MP's minor nation.

_____________________________

Thank you

Marshall Ellis
Outflank Strategy War Games



(in reply to Alan_Bernardo)
Post #: 2
RE: Two Questions - 12/18/2007 5:18:59 PM   
MartNick


Posts: 270
Joined: 7/22/2004
From: Napier, NZ
Status: offline
Hi

1.Is the minor state one of the countries that can produce corps? Hesse, Bavaria, Saxony, Hanover, Wurtemburg, Baden are examples. To check, click on the minor on the main map, then left click on the counter pool button (top right of the pop-up box, next to the X) if the counter pool is empty then I don't think you make make it a Free state it just stays conquered.

2. If the minor is an enemy Ally, I don't think you can spend money until it becomes neutral. I would like to know this for sure myself as well. And if there is any way to put more influence on that minor to make it neutral.

Marshall just got there before me

< Message edited by MartNick -- 12/18/2007 5:21:00 PM >

(in reply to Alan_Bernardo)
Post #: 3
RE: Two Questions - 12/18/2007 6:30:31 PM   
Alan_Bernardo

 

Posts: 204
Joined: 5/17/2002
From: Bowling Green, Ohio
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Marshall Ellis

Alan:

Good questions.

1. The minor nation needs to have corps counters available in order for you to declare it a freestate. Not all minors have these counters available. Which are you dealing with?

2. You are not allowed to add money when attempting to manipulate another MP's minor nation.



I get #2. I didn't realize that was the case. About #1, either a conquered minor has the ability to create a corps or it doesn't, and that doesn't change-- is this correct (gleaning this from MartNick's post)?


Thanks for the help,


Alan

(in reply to Marshall Ellis)
Post #: 4
RE: Two Questions - 12/18/2007 7:23:53 PM   
Marshall Ellis


Posts: 5630
Joined: 10/2/2001
From: Dallas
Status: offline
Alan:

No, it doesn't change. Certain minors have corps counters available and some don't. You can click the small icon at the top right of the selected nation box (Top right of screen) which should show you if this minor has corps counters avaialble to be purchased. If they do then you can convert it to a freestate. If not then they can be downgraded to conquered.



_____________________________

Thank you

Marshall Ellis
Outflank Strategy War Games



(in reply to Alan_Bernardo)
Post #: 5
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815 >> Two Questions Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

2.000