Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

City Assault - Has Already Foraged

 
View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815 >> City Assault - Has Already Foraged Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
City Assault - Has Already Foraged - 12/23/2007 8:52:38 PM   
kc_chiefs

 

Posts: 58
Joined: 11/29/2004
Status: offline
Ok, how do I STOP my unit that wants to assault a city from foraging?

I want to assault the city in the Land Combat Phase but it says I have already foraged. I have NOT auto or manually foraged with this unit. When I ended the Land Movement Phase it asked me if I wanted to go back to forage. I clicked NO.

The unit is not in a valid supply chain. No depot exists to supply the unit.

Does the program automatically forage for it since it cant be supplied by a Depot?

_____________________________

Bill Peters
Post #: 1
RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged - 12/23/2007 9:38:30 PM   
Thresh

 

Posts: 393
Joined: 12/25/2006
From: KCMO
Status: offline
A corps out of supply will always forae if theres no depot nearby.

That said, i have found the following worls best for me.

If I want a corps that is out of depot supply to seige a city, i click the "move into city" button to make sure it's sieging.  being in the same area does not constitue a siege. 

When you are sieging, you don't get to add any unused points.  Which is to say if they city is in a '4' value area, you base forage value will be 4, minus weather modifiers.

Todd

(in reply to kc_chiefs)
Post #: 2
RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged - 12/23/2007 11:58:40 PM   
yammahoper

 

Posts: 231
Joined: 4/23/2004
Status: offline
Yep, move into the city, then forage.

If you try to forage before moving into the city, a box should come up asking you if you wish to use unused movement points to forage with.  If you do, you cannot seige that turn.

yamma

_____________________________

...nothing is more chaotic than a battle won...

(in reply to Thresh)
Post #: 3
RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged - 12/24/2007 5:35:35 AM   
kc_chiefs

 

Posts: 58
Joined: 11/29/2004
Status: offline
Thanks guys. This worked!

_____________________________

Bill Peters

(in reply to kc_chiefs)
Post #: 4
RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged - 12/24/2007 6:16:24 PM   
Soapy Frog

 

Posts: 282
Joined: 7/16/2005
Status: offline
BTW what the hell is up with the whole "move into the city" thing required to initiate a siege? That's horribly non-intuitive, and I am pretty sure it's not part of the core rules anyway (sieging force does not have to "move into the city" to attack it, it just has to be in the same area and have paid supply, or not have used movement to forage.)

Very confusing, even for an old hand. I mean, who would even think to move into a city they don't actually control?

(in reply to kc_chiefs)
Post #: 5
RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged - 12/24/2007 7:32:22 PM   
Thresh

 

Posts: 393
Joined: 12/25/2006
From: KCMO
Status: offline
In the board game, moving into an area with an enemy controlled city does not automatically mean a siege is in effect, it has to be declared.

The "move into the city" button is the mechanism used to declare the siege.

That said, perhaps it could be coded so that if the city has enemy factors in it, the button could read "Initiate siege".

Something to ask Marshall.

Todd


quote:

ORIGINAL: Soapy Frog

BTW what the hell is up with the whole "move into the city" thing required to initiate a siege? That's horribly non-intuitive, and I am pretty sure it's not part of the core rules anyway (sieging force does not have to "move into the city" to attack it, it just has to be in the same area and have paid supply, or not have used movement to forage.)

Very confusing, even for an old hand. I mean, who would even think to move into a city they don't actually control?


(in reply to Soapy Frog)
Post #: 6
RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged - 12/24/2007 7:40:42 PM   
WJPalmer1

 

Posts: 81
Joined: 9/20/2004
From: Colorado Springs
Status: offline
A related question comes to mind: When attempting to move into a city to commence a siege, is the besieger limited to the city's internal capacity? For example, can a corps (or multiple corps) with a total of 11 factors assault a city with the capacity to hold 10 factors? Just wondering since it could well come up next phase in a PBEM game I'm playing. :)

(in reply to Thresh)
Post #: 7
RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged - 12/24/2007 9:11:48 PM   
Monadman


Posts: 2085
Joined: 12/6/2005
From: New Hampshire
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: exp101

A related question comes to mind: When attempting to move into a city to commence a siege, is the besieger limited to the city's internal capacity? For example, can a corps (or multiple corps) with a total of 11 factors assault a city with the capacity to hold 10 factors? Just wondering since it could well come up next phase in a PBEM game I'm playing. :)


No, the besieger does not have to comply with city capacity limits but there is a restriction of 30 counters of any type per city section (see section 10.4.3).

Richard


_____________________________


(in reply to WJPalmer1)
Post #: 8
RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged - 12/24/2007 9:36:53 PM   
WJPalmer1

 

Posts: 81
Joined: 9/20/2004
From: Colorado Springs
Status: offline
Thanks, Richard. I believe my Spanish can just sneak in under the 30 counter limit.

(in reply to Monadman)
Post #: 9
RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged - 12/25/2007 1:16:21 AM   
Soapy Frog

 

Posts: 282
Joined: 7/16/2005
Status: offline

quote:

ORIGINAL: Thresh
The "move into the city" button is the mechanism used to declare the siege.

That said, perhaps it could be coded so that if the city has enemy factors in it, the button could read "Initiate siege".

Precisely what I mean by non-intuitive. ;)

(in reply to Thresh)
Post #: 10
RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged - 12/25/2007 3:19:33 PM   
DodgyDave

 

Posts: 223
Joined: 9/30/2002
Status: offline
i have tried to move into a area with garrison and corps, if i ask my corps to enter city, i am told not allowed, so cant do it that way.

I think they just need to add a pay for this unit option, not just force forage :)

(in reply to Soapy Frog)
Post #: 11
Page:   [1]
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815 >> City Assault - Has Already Foraged Page: [1]
Jump to:





New Messages No New Messages
Hot Topic w/ New Messages Hot Topic w/o New Messages
Locked w/ New Messages Locked w/o New Messages
 Post New Thread
 Reply to Message
 Post New Poll
 Submit Vote
 Delete My Own Post
 Delete My Own Thread
 Rate Posts


Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI

0.704