City Assault - Has Already Foraged (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815



Message


kc_chiefs -> City Assault - Has Already Foraged (12/23/2007 8:52:38 PM)

Ok, how do I STOP my unit that wants to assault a city from foraging?

I want to assault the city in the Land Combat Phase but it says I have already foraged. I have NOT auto or manually foraged with this unit. When I ended the Land Movement Phase it asked me if I wanted to go back to forage. I clicked NO.

The unit is not in a valid supply chain. No depot exists to supply the unit.

Does the program automatically forage for it since it cant be supplied by a Depot?




Thresh -> RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged (12/23/2007 9:38:30 PM)

A corps out of supply will always forae if theres no depot nearby.

That said, i have found the following worls best for me.

If I want a corps that is out of depot supply to seige a city, i click the "move into city" button to make sure it's sieging.  being in the same area does not constitue a siege. 

When you are sieging, you don't get to add any unused points.  Which is to say if they city is in a '4' value area, you base forage value will be 4, minus weather modifiers.

Todd




yammahoper -> RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged (12/23/2007 11:58:40 PM)

Yep, move into the city, then forage.

If you try to forage before moving into the city, a box should come up asking you if you wish to use unused movement points to forage with.  If you do, you cannot seige that turn.

yamma




kc_chiefs -> RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged (12/24/2007 5:35:35 AM)

Thanks guys. This worked!




Soapy Frog -> RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged (12/24/2007 6:16:24 PM)

BTW what the hell is up with the whole "move into the city" thing required to initiate a siege? That's horribly non-intuitive, and I am pretty sure it's not part of the core rules anyway (sieging force does not have to "move into the city" to attack it, it just has to be in the same area and have paid supply, or not have used movement to forage.)

Very confusing, even for an old hand. I mean, who would even think to move into a city they don't actually control?




Thresh -> RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged (12/24/2007 7:32:22 PM)

In the board game, moving into an area with an enemy controlled city does not automatically mean a siege is in effect, it has to be declared.

The "move into the city" button is the mechanism used to declare the siege.

That said, perhaps it could be coded so that if the city has enemy factors in it, the button could read "Initiate siege".

Something to ask Marshall.

Todd


quote:

ORIGINAL: Soapy Frog

BTW what the hell is up with the whole "move into the city" thing required to initiate a siege? That's horribly non-intuitive, and I am pretty sure it's not part of the core rules anyway (sieging force does not have to "move into the city" to attack it, it just has to be in the same area and have paid supply, or not have used movement to forage.)

Very confusing, even for an old hand. I mean, who would even think to move into a city they don't actually control?





WJPalmer1 -> RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged (12/24/2007 7:40:42 PM)

A related question comes to mind: When attempting to move into a city to commence a siege, is the besieger limited to the city's internal capacity? For example, can a corps (or multiple corps) with a total of 11 factors assault a city with the capacity to hold 10 factors? Just wondering since it could well come up next phase in a PBEM game I'm playing. :)




Monadman -> RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged (12/24/2007 9:11:48 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: exp101

A related question comes to mind: When attempting to move into a city to commence a siege, is the besieger limited to the city's internal capacity? For example, can a corps (or multiple corps) with a total of 11 factors assault a city with the capacity to hold 10 factors? Just wondering since it could well come up next phase in a PBEM game I'm playing. :)


No, the besieger does not have to comply with city capacity limits but there is a restriction of 30 counters of any type per city section (see section 10.4.3).

Richard




WJPalmer1 -> RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged (12/24/2007 9:36:53 PM)

Thanks, Richard. I believe my Spanish can just sneak in under the 30 counter limit. [;)]




Soapy Frog -> RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged (12/25/2007 1:16:21 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Thresh
The "move into the city" button is the mechanism used to declare the siege.

That said, perhaps it could be coded so that if the city has enemy factors in it, the button could read "Initiate siege".

Precisely what I mean by non-intuitive. ;)




DodgyDave -> RE: City Assault - Has Already Foraged (12/25/2007 3:19:33 PM)

i have tried to move into a area with garrison and corps, if i ask my corps to enter city, i am told not allowed, so cant do it that way.

I think they just need to add a pay for this unit option, not just force forage :)




Page: [1]

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
0.5947266