Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

New AAR

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns >> New AAR Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
New AAR - 3/26/2002 1:02:04 PM   
bobaloo000

I've never done this before so I'd appreciate any input. This is about half done but I thought I'd post to see if I was heading in the right direction.

I updated this. Thank you.

Date: 11-07-42
Type: Amphibious Assault

Note: Col. Traeger prepared the following on 11-12-42.

Those of us heading up Task Forces as part of operation Torch spent all of 11/5 aboard Augusta. We spent the day with General Patton discussing final preparations for the assault on French Morocco the next day. The United States was about to enter the war and we were excited and nervous, none more so than General Patton himself. Still unsure of what to expect the General kept flip flopping about pre landing bombardments. Finally we decided that each commander was to call in nothing greater than smoke until, and if, fired upon.

My Task Force was scheduled to land in the vicinity of Safi. I have my normal command plus two platoons of Rangers. We would be completely mechanized in order to cover the ground we had to. In addition to two Mech. Infantry Companies I had several tank sections and some mech. Engineers to help with mine detection.

Jump off time was 0300 hours and we expected to land at 0545. Jump off was delayed 30 minutes and sure enough we did not even approach the beach until 0900. As we approached the beach we took both Mortar fire, plus direct fire from Gun Encasements along the beach.