Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Question for US Soldiers re: wearing your Class A

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion >> Question for US Soldiers re: wearing your Class A Page: [1] 2   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Question for US Soldiers re: wearing your Class A - 3/31/2010 10:10:49 PM   
Crimguy

I am a criminal defense attorney and had a bizarre experience this morning. I have a client who is in the National Guard and charged with a low-level felony offense (trespassing). He was set for a preliminary hearing this morning and, like many of my clients, came to court in his Class A uni. The prosecutor, who was in the Guard, made a big stink about it not being authorized to wear at court.

I told him "who gives a s**t?" And "I've never heard that court is inappropriate for the uniform." The judge thought he was insane.

What's the allowable dress for a court proceeding? It is a criminal case . . .

RE: Question for US Soldiers re: wearing your Class A - 3/31/2010 10:14:04 PM   
wworld7

You should ask at your National Guard website for the regs that cover your state.

Flipper

(in reply to Crimguy)
Post #: 2
RE: Question for US Soldiers re: wearing your Class A - 3/31/2010 10:34:29 PM   
Crimguy

The AZGuard website has numerous phone numbers, but frankly I don't find the issue meritorious based on the regs I've read it seems he was comporting with the Army regs.

(in reply to wworld7)
Post #: 3
RE: Question for US Soldiers re: wearing your Class A - 3/31/2010 10:57:38 PM   
Sarge

IIRC your strictly prohibited from exploiting the uniform in civilian court unless the case is related to military matters/on duty.

I think the prosecutor is spot on...........