Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Historical WW II game

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [General] >> General Discussion >> Historical WW II game Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Historical WW II game - 7/13/2014 7:18:27 PM   
WAMedic_slith

In the grand scheme of things I'm very new to the war gaming genre so I figured I would ask this question of all the experts out there. I am very, very interested in WW II gaming (and WW II history in general). Also looking for a game that doesn't required a tremendous amount of micromanagement (ie - Men of War Assault Squad).

Which is the best historical WW II game/s I should be checking out? At some point multiplayer might be an option but would probably be something PBEM type (where I don't have to sit for a continuous 30-60 minutes playing (might lead to a divorce).

Thanks in advance!
Post #: 1
RE: Historical WW II game - 7/13/2014 8:41:09 PM   
Mad Russian

You need to narrow that down a bit. You want a tactical, operational or strategic level game?

Good Hunting.

MR

The most expensive thing in the world is free time.

Founder of HSG scenario design group for Combat Mission.
Panzer Command Ostfront Development Team.
Flashpoint Campaigns: Red Storm Development Team.

(in reply to WAMedic_slith)
Post #: 2
RE: Historical WW II game - 7/13/2014 8:58:14 PM   
WAMedic_slith

Oh...sorry, yes I guess that would probably help. I guess I would be looking in the tactical to operational arena. A LONG time ago I played the original Close Combat games and really enjoyed them. Are the new games that have come out in that series pretty good and follow a historical path?

(in reply to Mad Russian)
Post #: 3
RE: Historical WW II game - 7/13/2014 11:16:19 PM   
aaatoysandmore