Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Unable to Start Game

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> Tech Support >> Unable to Start Game Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Unable to Start Game - 6/13/2015 1:16:20 PM   
aniketos

Hello,

I just purchased the game thanks to the sale, I have been eying this game for quite a few years but, due to school, I decided to wait until I finished. Now that I am finished, I purchased the game. However, after installing it, I ran into some problems with both the version I downloaded from Matrix and the one on Steam.

First, to the Matrix version. The installation was very smooth and I had no issues. However, when I went to start the game I did not even get to the menu screen, let alone even a loading screen. I attached a picture of the problem below. I did some searching here on the forums to see if anyone had anything similar and the closest I got was something about windows media player being 99% of the problems people face when trying to play the game. Well, I have WMP and use it all of the time so I suspect that that is not an issue. However, my computer is relatively old and I tried updating Internet Explorer to version 11 as noted in the FAQ in the stickied section of the Tech Support forum. My computer cannot even support 11, however I updated it to 9 anyways. So, I am stuck with that problem. OH! I almost forgot! I uninstalled the game and reinstalled it with a new file path but that did not work either. (It's my first time using this forum in years but I tried attaching a picture so I hope it works.)