Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Comparison?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> John Tiller's Campaign Series >> Comparison? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Comparison? - 12/11/2020 10:03:16 PM   
balto

What is the difference between JT Squad Battles and Campaign series?

I ask because I would have thought Squad Battles would have crushed Campaign in popularity..,but I am pretty sure Squad Battles is kind of dead. So why is Campaign still more popular than SB?

And if I go with WW2 Campaign series.., do I have to be a PC genius to get it to work?
Post #: 1
RE: Comparison? - 12/12/2020 11:36:56 AM   
Zovs

Well I am no expert on this subject matter but I do that the obvious is that one series is a tactical level game (i.e. squad battles) and the other is an operational level game (i.e. campaigns).

Why would you think that the squad battles series would crush the campaign series?

I think a lot more folks are interested in the operational side of war gaming than the tactical side. I can bear witness to the truth of this from many decades of board war gaming. There are far more operational and strategic level war games then tactical games in print. Essentially the most popular tactical and most successful by the way is Advanced Squad Leader. But that is just one series that has had great success. At any war game convention (other than those specifically designed for ASL) the vast majority of folks that show play operational and strategic level games.