Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

WitE: Watching combat resolution

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the East 2 >> WitE: Watching combat resolution Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
WitE: Watching combat resolution - 7/23/2021 5:07:00 PM   
Rusty1961

I want to buy this game. I'm a 10 year vet of WitP:AE and been gaming hard since I was 11 in 1972.

How different is watching the combat results from WitE? I found watching the combat resolution to be underwhelming.

Is it the same?
Post #: 1
RE: WitE: Watching combat resolution - 7/23/2021 7:28:37 PM   
xhoel

The combat has changed quite a bit since WitE 1 (improved). No longer will you see German Panzer divisions hitting a 300 tank strong division and only losing 2 tanks as a result. The addition of CPP, movement rules,supply system and weather rules etc is adds a nice dynamic to everything.

You get a lot more info about the combat just by looking at the battle details now. You can see which element hit how many times or how many elements were lost due to different causes. You can filter through the different element types in the battle reports, see engagement ranges etc. This makes it a lot easier to realize what happened, without needing to watch every battle at the highest detail.

I would suggest you buy the game and give it a try, it has a steep learning curve if you want to master it, but it is relatively easy to get into (and fun as well). Hope this helps!

AAR WITW: Gotterdammerung 43-45
http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=4490035
AAR WITE: A Clash of Titans 41-45
http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=4488465
WitE 2 Tester and Test Coordinator

(in reply to Rusty1961)
Post #: 2