First steps (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [American Civil War] >> Forge of Freedom: The American Civil War 1861-1865

Arminius -> First steps (4/11/2007 12:46:07 PM)

Hi, I orderd the game in the UK, just before Easter, physical and download.
Over the holydays, I studied the manual (puh, 252 pages) and then started the game with the Standard Campaign, advanced and Sarge.

Reading a manual like this one time of course is not the way to master the game.
I see now, I donīt know how to dispatch the few generals, how to involve the new brigades, I donīt know how to use the ironglad near Cairo, or if there is any ship in the 1st or 2cd Fleet. Looks like by now I do not have any shipyards, to increase my seapower, is that right?

When I was searching the forum for some solutions to my questions, I was wondering, that nobody so far has written kind of a "First steps for the Rookie Union player"

I`m living in Kaiserslautern, Germany. We still have a lot of US installations here and itīs just about 15 miles away from Ramstein Air Base. So I have a little hope, that a gamer from our region is reading this and can offer some help in learning FoF. ( I also play TOAW III )

Please excuse my english.

christof139 -> RE: First steps (4/11/2007 1:26:46 PM)

quote:

Hi, I orderd the game in the UK, just before Easter, physical and download.
Over the holydays, I studied the manual (puh, 252 pages) and then started the game with the Standard Campaign, advanced and Sarge.

Reading a manual like this one time of course is not the way to master the game.
I see now, I donīt know how to dispatch the few generals, how to involve the new brigades, I donīt know how to use the ironglad near Cairo, or if there is any ship in the 1st or 2cd Fleet. Looks like by now I do not have any shipyards, to increase my seapower, is that right?