RE: The Good The Bad & The Indifferent (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> After Action Reports

Bullwinkle58 -> RE: The Good The Bad & The Indifferent (10/30/2017 7:32:24 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Flicker

I'm not sure to which post the Moose was replying, however, 'Swedish Bikini Team' is always a valid response -IF- accompanied by a picture.

CR knows . . .

MakeeLearn -> RE: The Good The Bad & The Indifferent (10/30/2017 7:49:23 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Panther Bait

quote:

ORIGINAL: MakeeLearn

quote:

ORIGINAL: crsutton

Back on the subject of trees. I am a realtor and love to show older homes in the DC area that have . It is worth stripping the paint off to show it off if you have it.

As for the red oaks and white oaks in our area, we are having serious issues with them. There is red oak decline which is causing many older trees to slowly die but more significant is that the exploding deer population is severely altering our old growth forest. The deer eat all of the young oak seedlings and they are not able to replace themselves. There is a looming disaster coming as a result and our politicians have no clue or don't care. A walk in the woods these days shows that beech trees are ascendant and the undergrowth trees seem to be all holly. The only good news is there is plenty of oak firewood around these days.

It's nice looking wood - Chestnut, especially if stained in a way that brings out it's natural color. Not modern toxic stains, but using "Old School" like a mixture of Linseed oil and beeswax which is nontoxic.

quote:

Chestnut trim on the interior

Can you tell if it's done by hand? I make molding using hand planes.

My parents live in a 1880's New England farmhouse with chesnut woodwork in several places. When they were making some renovations, their carpenter had to do a bunch of work to try different wood and stains to even try to match the chestnut. Came out looking very good.