OT Admiral Vinogradov (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition

geofflambert -> OT Admiral Vinogradov (7/3/2013 7:47:26 PM)

This is supposedly the destroyer Admiral Vinogradov. Anyone know what the huge tubes are?

[image]local://upfiles/37002/DC7D74B36FF541F9AB5F6D65D7B9FEF8.jpg[/image]

Shellshock -> RE: OT Admiral Vinogradov (7/3/2013 7:50:20 PM)

I'm no expert, but likely they are silos for Sunburn anti-ship missiles.

Bullwinkle58 -> RE: OT Admiral Vinogradov (7/3/2013 8:01:47 PM)

I think you have the wrong name. Your pic is not of an Udaloy or Udaloy II. And Admiral V's hull number is 572.

sprior -> RE: OT Admiral Vinogradov (7/3/2013 8:02:18 PM)

Yep, ASMs.

geofflambert -> RE: OT Admiral Vinogradov (7/3/2013 8:06:13 PM)

It's the Varyag, and someone called it a carrier killer.

The Guided Missle Cruiser Varyag. Here's some shots of her visiting SF.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hsmv561OF2A

Terminus -> RE: OT Admiral Vinogradov (7/3/2013 8:08:35 PM)

The sailors are Chinese.

Bullwinkle58 -> RE: OT Admiral Vinogradov (7/3/2013 8:08:50 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: geofflambert

It's the Varyag, and someone called it a carrier killer.

d

geofflambert -> RE: OT Admiral Vinogradov (7/3/2013 8:10:31 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Terminus

The sailors are Chinese.

This pic came from a story about Russian/Chinese maneuvers.

Terminus -> RE: OT Admiral Vinogradov (7/3/2013 8:11:43 PM)

It's the Varyag alright. Hull number 011. Used to be called the Chervona Ukraina back in the day.

The old Varyag was a Kuznetzov-class carrier, hence my confusion. More than a few renamings after the USSR broke up.

geofflambert -> RE: OT Admiral Vinogradov (7/3/2013 8:12:46 PM)

quote:

Not the Varyag. Her freeboard is much too low. It looks like an old Slava-class.

011 Is the Varyag's number, check the link I left above

Terminus -> RE: OT Admiral Vinogradov (7/3/2013 8:14:37 PM)

Note that I edited my post.