RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School



Message


Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (4/10/2018 8:54:40 AM)

First time I hear that.




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (4/10/2018 1:35:11 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

The USA is neutral, but US entry option 11, US East Coast Escorts is in play. The USA elects for their CV, CA and CL to participate in the combat. This I knew. But what I didn't know was that by participating in the combat, US CP's in the sea area are now eligible to take losses. My question is is this correct?


Without looking at the rules, and by the logics of the game no ---> USA is not at war so his convoys cannot be fired upon, however the SCSs and CVs are escorting so they can join the fray.
Response by Centuur in the tech forum clarifies that this is no bug. That is, US CP's can be used to take losses while the US is still neutral if the US commits to combat.



Rectified later by Paul, in the sense I was meaning. Neutrals cannot fight, except usa escorts once the option has been selected, so USA convoys shouldn't.

http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/tm.asp?m=4464775&mpage=1&key=�




Shannon V. OKeets -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (4/11/2018 3:39:57 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio


quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

Is there any way to see if a side has already railed a unit across a straight this turn, aside from trying to rail a unit and being told that you can't do that move?


Is there a limit for this?

As for determining if a unit has used a straits previously in the turn - no, there isn't anyway to 'see' that. You just try it and find out you can't.

By the way, the limit is one unit per side per turn [not per impulse].

Choose wisely. Don't rail a division across the Istanbul straits in the first Axis impulse of a turn and then try to rail Manstein across to support attacks in the Mid-East in the next Axis impulse. I was quite unhappy when I discovered this. [sm=Christo_pull_hair.gif][sm=Christo_pull_hair.gif]




Centuur -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (4/11/2018 12:13:04 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio


quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

Is there any way to see if a side has already railed a unit across a straight this turn, aside from trying to rail a unit and being told that you can't do that move?


Is there a limit for this?

As for determining if a unit has used a straits previously in the turn - no, there isn't anyway to 'see' that. You just try it and find out you can't.

By the way, the limit is one unit per side per turn [not per impulse].

Choose wisely. Don't rail a division across the Istanbul straits in the first Axis impulse of a turn and then try to rail Manstein across to support attacks in the Mid-East in the next Axis impulse. I was quite unhappy when I discovered this. [sm=Christo_pull_hair.gif][sm=Christo_pull_hair.gif]


Can't we change this somehow on the map? Like with the Burma road which gets a different color when it's closed? Red straits arrows means it has been used, white arrows means you can still use it for rail movement (for example)?




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (4/13/2018 11:09:01 PM)

You can't see it but the Italians are defending with 3 combat factors (i.e., 37:3). Both Italian combat units are out of supply and disorganized (2 factors total since one unit is a division and the other is not elite). Where does the 3rd factor come from?

[image]local://upfiles/31901/DA79F4FFD8A64874BB98413888E6A158.jpg[/image]




paulderynck -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (4/14/2018 6:59:07 AM)

AT is still doubled on defence when attacked by arm/mech.




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (4/14/2018 5:06:58 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

AT is still doubled on defence when attacked by arm/mech.
Ok. Thanks!




Shannon V. OKeets -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/16/2018 1:28:39 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur


quote:

ORIGINAL: Shannon V. OKeets


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio


quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

Is there any way to see if a side has already railed a unit across a straight this turn, aside from trying to rail a unit and being told that you can't do that move?


Is there a limit for this?

As for determining if a unit has used a straits previously in the turn - no, there isn't anyway to 'see' that. You just try it and find out you can't.

By the way, the limit is one unit per side per turn [not per impulse].

Choose wisely. Don't rail a division across the Istanbul straits in the first Axis impulse of a turn and then try to rail Manstein across to support attacks in the Mid-East in the next Axis impulse. I was quite unhappy when I discovered this. [sm=Christo_pull_hair.gif][sm=Christo_pull_hair.gif]


Can't we change this somehow on the map? Like with the Burma road which gets a different color when it's closed? Red straits arrows means it has been used, white arrows means you can still use it for rail movement (for example)?

There would have to be 4 colors: Axis used/unused & Allied used/unused.

Given that some players have trouble with colors, that doesn't seem to me to be a viable solution.




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/19/2018 10:25:34 PM)

Unintended consequences?

The US, CW & Free France are war war with Vichy, who have a CP in Cape St. Vincent, which has been helping to run the Kayes RP in Senegal to a factory in Vichy for several turns now. I wanted to confirm what I think I just realized. The Vichy CP actually helps the allies in their defense against axis subs by "giving" +1 to the allied naval search rolls.

Is this correct?

If so, the allies would never what to "sink" or abort that CP ... well except for the 1 RP to Vichy every turn. But I think the cost-benefit to the allies would be more than worth it to leave that CP alone.


[image]local://upfiles/31901/A051E08DF7214A7C9F9AD86CC9397F7C.jpg[/image]




paulderynck -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/19/2018 11:00:39 PM)

Yes that is so.




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/19/2018 11:54:40 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Yes that is so.
So I guess it's with wink and a nod the Vichy merchantmen agree to inform the allies if enemy subs or ships are operating in the area. [;)]




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/21/2018 8:26:26 AM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Yes that is so.
So I guess it's with wink and a nod the Vichy merchantmen agree to inform the allies if enemy subs or ships are operating in the area. [;)]



Vichy handling is strange in this game. It's neutral so it shouldn't help any combat roll, but it's Axis friendly...

I am surprised about what Paul says but I am not ready to rebate it.

On second thought I'll try to:

quote:

Subtract 1 from your search roll for every 10 enemy convoy points (or part) in the sea area. This modifier does not apply to interception attempts, port attacks or during storm or blizzard. This modifier does apply after the first round of an interception combat.


I don't think a neutral Vichy qualifies as "enemy". Am I wrong? [&:]




Centuur -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/21/2018 11:31:49 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Yes that is so.
So I guess it's with wink and a nod the Vichy merchantmen agree to inform the allies if enemy subs or ships are operating in the area. [;)]



Vichy handling is strange in this game. It's neutral so it shouldn't help any combat roll, but it's Axis friendly...

I am surprised about what Paul says but I am not ready to rebate it.

On second thought I'll try to:

quote:

Subtract 1 from your search roll for every 10 enemy convoy points (or part) in the sea area. This modifier does not apply to interception attempts, port attacks or during storm or blizzard. This modifier does apply after the first round of an interception combat.


I don't think a neutral Vichy qualifies as "enemy". Am I wrong? [&:]



No, you are not wrong. But Vichy is not neutral in this game, but at war with the Allies.




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/21/2018 11:58:57 AM)

Ow Sh*t!. Thanks, Centuur

That's one of the problems when using the optional that you need to have convoys or TRS/AMPHs to have a supply line by sea, ..., the enemy can use it to help their rolls but you need to keep it for your supply. Only that in this case it may pay to sink it if there is a possibility to take good advantage of the lack of supply...




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/25/2018 10:58:35 PM)

I'm playing with the optional rule, "Limited supply across straits." I have two screen caps to post for my question. This first screen cap is for the start of the turn. My second screen cap (next post) will be for the German and Italian use oil phases of the previous turn. I actually have two questions (one per cap/post).

1. Why is the German Bf-109 in Syracuse (in Sicily) out of supply while all other units are in supply?

[image]local://upfiles/31901/D95AD63796CD48CAB56FD1FDDE9BAF0F.jpg[/image]




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/25/2018 11:00:15 PM)

Use oil phases previous turns.

2. Why can't I use oil to reorg the Italian NAV and two German fighters on Sicily? They appear to be in supply.

[image]local://upfiles/31901/33A7861699334055AB4FED02AEB6FCBB.jpg[/image]




Orm -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/26/2018 4:40:40 AM)

1) Sea supply is blocked And the fighter is not in supply range from Palermo (the only supply source on Sicily).

2) The units are in supply from Palermo. But the Messina straits is blocked (no sea supply), so no oil can reach Sicily.

One oil on Sicily would have solved this issue. Although it would be a nice target for enemy strat bombers. This is one of the reasons that I do not like to play with the limited supply across straits option at the same time as limited overseas supply.




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/26/2018 3:28:27 PM)

Thanks! Wow, that explanation made my head hurt. [:D]




paulderynck -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/26/2018 5:40:57 PM)

Yeah the wording for the rule got convoluted too because the absence of both a convoy and enemy units capable of attacking it (without friendly units present as well) should not prevent crossing straits with a resource or tracing for oil or supply. If this clause had not been included then FREX the resource in the Crimea could not get across the Kerch straits when no units from either side are in the Black Sea.

I can't recall if this last proviso is coded.

The interaction of LOS and Limited Supply Across Straits has been hotly debated, usually with opponents to the way it works citing the successful evacuation of the German divisions from Sicily in 1943.




Courtenay -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/26/2018 7:49:12 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Yeah the wording for the rule got convoluted too because the absence of both a convoy and enemy units capable of attacking it (without friendly units present as well) should not prevent crossing straits with a resource or tracing for oil or supply. If this clause had not been included then FREX the resource in the Crimea could not get across the Kerch straits when no units from either side are in the Black Sea.

I can't recall if this last proviso is coded.

The interaction of LOS and Limited Supply Across Straits has been hotly debated, usually with opponents to the way it works citing the successful evacuation of the German divisions from Sicily in 1943.

Frankly I think that the way that LOS and limited supply across straits interact is broken, and it shows up most in Sicily. I am still unclear if the way it is currently coded is the way the rules are currently interpreted by ADG. They certainly aren't coded the way they are written, but I have a horrible suspicion that this is the way that ADG has interpreted the rules. At any rate, once I discovered how they interact, I have stopped using limited supply across straits, even though it is a rule I like.




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/26/2018 11:48:58 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Yeah the wording for the rule got convoluted too because the absence of both a convoy and enemy units capable of attacking it (without friendly units present as well) should not prevent crossing straits with a resource or tracing for oil or supply. If this clause had not been included then FREX the resource in the Crimea could not get across the Kerch straits when no units from either side are in the Black Sea.

I can't recall if this last proviso is coded.

The interaction of LOS and Limited Supply Across Straits has been hotly debated, usually with opponents to the way it works citing the successful evacuation of the German divisions from Sicily in 1943.

Frankly I think that the way that LOS and limited supply across straits interact is broken, and it shows up most in Sicily. I am still unclear if the way it is currently coded is the way the rules are currently interpreted by ADG. They certainly aren't coded the way they are written, but I have a horrible suspicion that this is the way that ADG has interpreted the rules. At any rate, once I discovered how they interact, I have stopped using limited supply across straits, even though it is a rule I like.
OK, I'm convinced and still confused, so I just "turned" that optional off in my game. [8D]


[image]local://upfiles/31901/800D4A03DC654DD8A44D332151288D96.jpg[/image]




paulderynck -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/27/2018 3:14:34 AM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Yeah the wording for the rule got convoluted too because the absence of both a convoy and enemy units capable of attacking it (without friendly units present as well) should not prevent crossing straits with a resource or tracing for oil or supply. If this clause had not been included then FREX the resource in the Crimea could not get across the Kerch straits when no units from either side are in the Black Sea.

I can't recall if this last proviso is coded.

The interaction of LOS and Limited Supply Across Straits has been hotly debated, usually with opponents to the way it works citing the successful evacuation of the German divisions from Sicily in 1943.

Frankly I think that the way that LOS and limited supply across straits interact is broken, and it shows up most in Sicily. I am still unclear if the way it is currently coded is the way the rules are currently interpreted by ADG. They certainly aren't coded the way they are written, but I have a horrible suspicion that this is the way that ADG has interpreted the rules. At any rate, once I discovered how they interact, I have stopped using limited supply across straits, even though it is a rule I like.

It looks right to me. LOS is on and I see no Italian CP/Amph/TRS in the Italian coast. That is exactly how it is supposed to work per ADG.

The part I'm not sure is coded in MWiF is the part I mentioned using an empty Black Sea as an example (and of course that is with the assumption the Crimean resource has no other route out).




paulderynck -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (5/27/2018 3:18:20 AM)

Another Black Sea example is the Turkish resource being lent to Germany. That should always get through as long as both sides of the straits are controlled by a neutral. I'm quite sure MWiF does that one properly.




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (6/27/2018 10:37:19 AM)

Ok, here goes my question:

When you want to use offensive chit to duplicate the units' power in an attack, ...

... is it possible to do it across the sea?

The wording seems to allow it but I am not 100% sure:

quote:

16.3 Land action
If you play an offensive chit at the start of a land action, specify 1 of your face-up HQs. You gain the following benefits:
ï you can double the combat factors of this major power’s land units within range of the HQ when you calculate the final odds for the overrun or land combat. You can do this for as many units in the impulse as twice the HQ’s reorganisation value. You can double the same unit in more than one overrun or land combat but it counts against the total each time. You can only double each unit once per overrun or land combat; and (...)


quote:

HQ benefits
If you use an offensive chit in an air or land action, you can apply some benefits within the “range” of an in supply major power or minor country HQ. A hex is within range if it is no further away in hexes and or hex-dots than the chosen HQ’s re-organisation value (ignoring terrain, neutral countries, enemy units and their ZOCs). Each Asian and Pacific map hex or hex-dot counts as 2 hexes for this purpose and each off-map hex counts as 4 hexes.



So I guess you can reorganize from Dover to Calais for example. Right? 'Cause sea is a "terrain"...




Courtenay -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (6/27/2018 10:58:32 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio

Ok, here goes my question:

When you want to use offensive chit to duplicate the units' power in an attack, ...

... is it possible to do it across the sea?

The wording seems to allow it but I am not 100% sure:

quote:

16.3 Land action
If you play an offensive chit at the start of a land action, specify 1 of your face-up HQs. You gain the following benefits:
ï you can double the combat factors of this major power’s land units within range of the HQ when you calculate the final odds for the overrun or land combat. You can do this for as many units in the impulse as twice the HQ’s reorganisation value. You can double the same unit in more than one overrun or land combat but it counts against the total each time. You can only double each unit once per overrun or land combat; and (...)


So I guess you can reorganize from Dover to Calais for example. Right? 'Cause sea is a "terrain"...

Yes, you can double across the sea. This is useful for Overlord.

You cannot reorganize across a sea, because you have to be able to trace a supply line using motorized movement costs from the HQ to the unit, and WiF does not have amphibious trucks.




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (6/27/2018 11:16:14 AM)

Thanks a lot.





rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (7/20/2018 7:28:26 PM)

Is there some prohibition against China giving resources to the USA?

I've stopped all trade from the US to China, but don't get the option to set up trade from China to US.




paulderynck -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (7/21/2018 2:34:47 AM)

No prohibition except the Burma Road (which includes the RR going north from Hanoi) is one way inbound. It is possible the code dose not foresee a different pathway, if such is available.




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (7/21/2018 2:36:13 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

No prohibition except the Burma Road (which includes the RR going north from Hanoi) is one way inbound. It is possible the code dose not foresee a different pathway, if such is available.
OK. I'll post a bug report then.




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/4/2018 11:24:54 PM)

Ok, here's one for you (M)WiF rules experts. Is the following correct?

Germany has taken a combine, which gives them 1 naval move. In the Western Med, specifically Toulon, Vichy France, the Germans call select a stack of Vichy ships (e.g., all 8 organized ships) and move them out into the Western Med with no problem.

Now, let's say instead of moving Vichy ships from Toulon, Germany wishes to move Vichy ships into Cape Verde Basin from Dakar, Senegal. Germany can only select 1 ship and not a stack of more than one ship to move. If they try to move a stack of 2 or more ships they get a message that they're exceeding their naval moves. Is this correct?

P.S. After saving and reloading my game now Vichy can only move 1 ship from Toulon into the West Med. I guess this is correct then since Vichy is still not hostile to the allies?

[image]local://upfiles/31901/08B763969C4B4C9483327999F3919FEC.jpg[/image]




Page: <<   < prev  32 33 [34] 35 36   next >   >>

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
0.703125