RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> WIF School



Message


Courtenay -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/4/2018 11:42:39 PM)

If Vichy is not hostile to any Allied major power, each French ship moved counts as one naval movement.




Centuur -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/5/2018 8:08:24 AM)

Only if Vichy is hostile, you can move a stack of Vichy ships counting as one naval move. So it appears that there is a problem somewhere...




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/5/2018 3:08:05 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay

If Vichy is not hostile to any Allied major power, each French ship moved counts as one naval movement.
Thanks!

quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur

Only if Vichy is hostile, you can move a stack of Vichy ships counting as one naval move. So it appears that there is a problem somewhere...
Thanks!

Maybe I was mistaken that I could move a stack of more than one ship from Toulon, but I thought I did. However, when I saved and re-loaded I could only move one ship. So, unless I can repeat this I guess there isn't a problem.




paulderynck -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/5/2018 4:31:32 PM)

Agreed - one naval unit per naval move with Vichy ships in this case. Sounds like the move of all from Toulon is a minor bug then. Thankfully the reload work-around did the trick.




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/6/2018 7:32:01 AM)

Puff, Vichy is messy...

From the related ruling it would look like the final situation is correct:

quote:

Vichy units may only enter a hex outside Vichy France if it is controlled by an enemy major power. They may move into hexdots and sea boxes without penalty.

Each Vichy French naval unit you move (not each task force) counts as 1 naval move unless Vichy France is hostile to an Allied major power. Vichy French naval and aircraft units at sea (except for convoy points) must always return to base during the return to base step unless Vichy France is hostile to an Allied major power.

Example: Heinz chooses a combined action for Germany. This gives Germany 1 naval move, which he uses to move 1 Vichy naval unit. If Vichy France were hostile to, say, the Commonwealth, he could have moved a task force of Vichy naval units instead. If he had chosen a naval action instead, he could have moved all the Vichy and German naval units (even if not hostile). Germany also has 6 air missions. Heinz moves 5 German aircraft and 1 Vichy aircraft.


Edit: Sh*t, I am really late, everybody did already...




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/11/2018 3:47:54 PM)

I just learned something and I though I'd pass it along to whomever like me wasn't aware of it.

Unlike at sea, when a ship or sub gets an abort result (from a D attempt) it can continued to be targeted during that same port strike by subsequent D attempts as applicable.




Centuur -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/11/2018 5:36:33 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

I just learned something and I though I'd pass it along to whomever like me wasn't aware of it.

Unlike at sea, when a ship or sub gets an abort result (from a D attempt) it can continued to be targeted during that same port strike by subsequent D attempts as applicable.


That's a bug...




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/11/2018 7:00:34 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur


quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

I just learned something and I though I'd pass it along to whomever like me wasn't aware of it.

Unlike at sea, when a ship or sub gets an abort result (from a D attempt) it can continued to be targeted during that same port strike by subsequent D attempts as applicable.


That's a bug...
Really. I need to dig up a game same then and post it in the tech forum.




Orm -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/11/2018 8:02:30 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur


quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

I just learned something and I though I'd pass it along to whomever like me wasn't aware of it.

Unlike at sea, when a ship or sub gets an abort result (from a D attempt) it can continued to be targeted during that same port strike by subsequent D attempts as applicable.


That's a bug...
Really. I need to dig up a game same then and post it in the tech forum.


Not a bug. Works according to the rules. At least in my humble opinion.




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/13/2018 7:38:45 AM)

I believe it can be objective of other results as long as the round has not ended, although this part can be arguable.

quote:

Combat results
The combat results are:
Result Effect

X The unit (and any cargo on it) is immediately destroyed.

D The unit is damaged. Put a damage marker on the unit. If the unit is already damaged, it (and any cargo on it) is destroyed instead.
A damaged unit only has half its printed attack, AA and ASW factors. Its defense factor is 1 higher. Its range and speed are not affected. A damaged CV may not fly carrier planes (see 14.4).
At the end of combat in this sea area (not each round), all damaged units must abort.

A Your unit aborts. At the end of the combat round, return it to base according to the return to base rules (see 13.4).
Turn the aborted unit (and any cargo) face-down.


1/2 A No effect unless the same unit suffers two ‘1/2 A’ results in one round of combat. Two ‘1/2 A’ results become an ‘A’ result.


But this is for naval combat, in the specific rules for port attack itself, the ship cannot obviously abort from combat so the phrasing seems to indicate it is only flipped which would make it clearer in this case, it's still there for more damage to be applied if any left.

quote:

The attack
After any air-to-air combat (see 14.3), your opponent subjects the surviving bombers to anti-aircraft fire from the naval units in the port (see 11.5.9) and AA units (AsA option 3: see 22.4.2).
Then you attack the naval units with any of your bombers’ air-to-sea factors which survived anti-aircraft fire. You do this just like a naval air combat (see 11.5.9) with the exceptions that:
(a) SUBs in a minor port are automatically included (major ports are assumed to have bomb-proof pens and the owner may choose whether to include them in combat or not); and
(b) each ‘A’ (abort) result allows you to turn a face-up target unit, face-down; and
(c) there is only 1 combat round in a port attack.




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/19/2018 2:33:07 PM)

Artillery. Are artillery factors halved by weather (I assume so but wanted to confirm)? What about firing across a river or for hexside?




paulderynck -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/19/2018 4:56:51 PM)

They are halved by Rain or Snow. They can't bombard or ground strike, but can attack, in Storm and Blizzard. For Forest, Jungle and Swamp they are halved bombarding and ground striking but not attacking, while for river or frozen lake hexsides it is the reverse.

Of course if a hex is Forest and across a river hexside an Arty will be halved either way in Fine weather.




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/20/2018 7:49:32 AM)

An ART is not halved across river or fort.

quote:

ART units that bombard across all-sea, river, canal, fortification or straits hexsides do not halve or third their factors. They can’t bombard across alpine hexsides. If they take part in normal combat, they are halved or thirded as usual by such terrain.




paulderynck -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/20/2018 7:36:21 PM)

It is when it attacks as a land unit. (As covered in post #1032.)




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (8/21/2018 8:10:32 AM)

That is when they attack not using the ground support variant, which is what is usually done.

Ground supporting over a river or fort (or others) gives them 100% of their force (previous to land or weather modifiers). I understand "firing" refers to this.


quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Artillery. Are artillery factors halved by weather (I assume so but wanted to confirm)? What about firing across a river or for hexside?





rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (11/11/2018 11:00:51 PM)

A gearing limits question. Why is the gearing limit for fort hexsides for Nov/Dec 1939 not 2 instead of 4 as shown?

[image]local://upfiles/31901/A7DD7D7ED5224FF5AA81978BC6D452CD.jpg[/image]




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (11/12/2018 7:41:51 AM)

deleted




paulderynck -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (11/12/2018 8:03:45 PM)

Perhaps if a one-hexside fort was built in SO, then since forts can be from one to three hexsides when built, it is saying you can build two forts comprising up to 4 hexsides, i.e. a one and a three or two twos, at the most.

But I agree it seems strange. Perhaps testing different size fort builds in SO would reveal a pattern.




Centuur -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (11/13/2018 6:54:03 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: paulderynck

Perhaps if a one-hexside fort was built in SO, then since forts can be from one to three hexsides when built, it is saying you can build two forts comprising up to 4 hexsides, i.e. a one and a three or two twos, at the most.

But I agree it seems strange. Perhaps testing different size fort builds in SO would reveal a pattern.


There is a cosmetic bug in the game. On the production screen it is stated that one can build one "one-hexside" fort. In reality, this number should be stated to be "3". If you decide to build a fort, the next turn you can build 3 "one hexside" forts more...

[image]local://upfiles/38590/37E1555BCE474156898B896F0C429CAA.gif[/image]




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (11/18/2018 5:50:44 PM)

Naval combat. When counting up the number of ships to determine which row to use, do transports count as a ship?




Orm -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (11/18/2018 6:11:58 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Naval combat. When counting up the number of ships to determine which row to use, do transports count as a ship?

Yes. Each TRS count as one ship.

And each CP count as 0.5 ships.




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (11/18/2018 6:15:30 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm


quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Naval combat. When counting up the number of ships to determine which row to use, do transports count as a ship?

Yes. Each TRS count as one ship.

And each CP count as 0.5 ships.
Thanks!




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (11/19/2018 7:48:17 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm


quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Naval combat. When counting up the number of ships to determine which row to use, do transports count as a ship?

Yes. Each TRS count as one ship.

And each CP count as 0.5 ships.


Rounded up.

Or every 5 convoys or part of, are 1 ship if you are not using Ships in Flames

quote:

Cross reference the final column with the row containing the number of ships your opponent has taking part in the round. A ship is a naval unit, or 5 convoy points, included in the combat.
SiF option 9: every 2 convoy points (and any spare 1 point) counts as a ship.




Centuur -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (11/19/2018 4:56:42 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Joseignacio


quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm


quote:

ORIGINAL: rkr1958

Naval combat. When counting up the number of ships to determine which row to use, do transports count as a ship?

Yes. Each TRS count as one ship.

And each CP count as 0.5 ships.


Rounded up.

Or every 5 convoys or part of, are 1 ship if you are not using Ships in Flames

quote:

Cross reference the final column with the row containing the number of ships your opponent has taking part in the round. A ship is a naval unit, or 5 convoy points, included in the combat.
SiF option 9: every 2 convoy points (and any spare 1 point) counts as a ship.



MWIF always uses Ships in Flames...




Joseignacio -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (11/20/2018 7:11:23 AM)

[X(]




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (12/19/2018 6:12:51 PM)

It's a surface naval combat in which, as I understand it, sub attack factors are halved. So my question is how are they halved? Is it

(1) after totaling them and then rounding off (e.g., (3 + 5) / 2 = 4), or equivalently, adding fractions and then rounding (e.g., 3/2 + 5/2 = 1.5 + 2.5 = 4)

(2) halving each unit, rounding as appropriate and then totaling (e.g., 3/2 + 5/2 = 1.5 + 2.5 => (rounding) => 2 + 3 = 5)?


I'm asking because as far as I can tell in the example I've included MWiF appears to be using method (2). Is this correct?


[image]local://upfiles/31901/EA70AFC6A55C4F1988A3FC78DCB1AE04.jpg[/image]




Orm -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (12/19/2018 6:32:51 PM)

quote:

It's a surface naval combat in which, as I understand it, sub attack factors are halved. So my question is how are they halved?

No, SUBs are not halved during surface combat.


Cut from RAC:
During surface naval combat each included Sub’s attack factor is reduced by 1.

Edit: So the two German SUbs in your example has a surface fighting strength of 6 and that seems to be what MWIF uses.




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (12/19/2018 6:36:22 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Orm

quote:

It's a surface naval combat in which, as I understand it, sub attack factors are halved. So my question is how are they halved?

No, SUBs are not halved during surface combat.


Cut from RAC:
During surface naval combat each included Sub’s attack factor is reduced by 1.

Edit: So the two German SUbs in your example has a surface fighting strength of 6 and that seems to be what MWIF uses.
Ok, now that makes sense. Thanks!




rkr1958 -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (12/22/2018 6:02:03 PM)

Situation: Japan took a land and has three ground units disorganized, which are within two (mountain) hexes of an organized and in-supply Yamamoto HQ-I.

Question: Why isn't Japan given the option to use the Yamamoto HQ-I to reorganize these three ground units?

[image]local://upfiles/31901/B56A017B9D8E43088DCEAE5D905864A6.jpg[/image]




Orm -> RE: New to the game - Basic Questions (12/22/2018 7:10:16 PM)

Answer: The three units are not allowed to become reorganized by Yamamoto because they are outside the HQs reorganization range.

The HQ's reorganization range is equal to its reorganization value in motorized movement points.

In this case the HQ has a reorganization value of 4. The units are only two hexes away but the first hex is mountain and costs 3, the second is forest and cost 2 more. Hence the HQ would need 5 in reorganization value, and range, to reorganize the three units.

Note that the range when reorganizing units are counted from the HQ to the units in question. And that units next to the HQI can always be reorganized if movement is allowed between the unit and the HQ.




Page: <<   < prev  33 34 [35] 36 37   next >   >>

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
0.765625