RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> World in Flames >> After Action Report



Message


warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/29/2019 1:10:59 PM)

I've thrown for Vichy. Haven't done that for many many years!! No throws for Algeria, Morocco or Syria it seems. No territories went Free French so completely conquered.

Throws:
Madagascar 6
Asian Minors 7
Equitorial Africa 2
Pacific 7
US Action 9 = 1 Chit added

Well this doesn't look right when comparing to RAC.....[:(]




Courtenay -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/29/2019 2:38:04 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: warspite1

Axis End of Turn Malarchy
Establish Vichy Government: Yes

No idea what that was all about but apparently there were no throws for Algeria, Syria or Morocco. Free France controls nothing and is completely conquered. Is that even possible?

If there is a French BB not in a French port, two is subtracted from all Vichy rolls. This makes 10 and 9-10 automatic. The French then rolled less than a 9, less than a 5, and less than a 4 on the remaining three die rolls. Clearly the French were exhausted from fighting so long.

About time you got some luck in this game.




AllenK -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/29/2019 2:59:34 PM)

Garrisons tested in France, Yugoslavia and Indo-China but were able to quell all dissent.

USSR placed chit in offence and moved one from defence to offence.

US placed one chit in Ge/It and one in Ja. Congress gave the go-ahead to build strategic bombers. Tension with the Japanese rose (chit into the Ja tension pool after 5 rolled).

Stay at Sea

CW keeps CL from North Sea 4-box. Escorts from Faeroes 4 and 1 boxes, Biscay 4 and 1 boxes, North Atlantic 4 and 1 boxes, St Vincent 4 and 1 boxes, Cape Verde 4-box, CA from East Med 1-box. CV TF's in West Med return to Gibraltar, except for TRANS to Tripoli and CA to Alex. BB Group in East Med to Alex. Beaufighter and subs to Malta.

French ships and subs in the Med stay at sea.

Oil use

CW reorgs all for 5.65
France reorgs all for 1.45
US reorgs all for 0.4.

No breakdowns

Production

China 6 - 1 oil saved
CW 28 - Several saved oils
France 0
USA 30
USSR 27

Italy is slightly overspent on production. The closest is one pilot and either another pilot or the GARR, not both. What do the Italians want?




warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/29/2019 3:37:54 PM)

That should be 1 pilot sorry.




AllenK -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/29/2019 4:17:02 PM)

Production

China
LND 3
ENG Div

CW
INF Div
ARM
FTR 2
GARR
CP
Repair 2 CL's
CL 2nd.
FTR 3
LND 4
Pilot x3
Air Landing Div.

US
CV 2nd x2
LND 4 x2
Pilot x 3
FTR 2
MECH
MAR Div

USSR
MTN
MTN Div
Ski Div x2
MECH x2
FTR 2
Pilot
LND 3

Libya is conquered by CW

Germany establishes Vichy. A 9 puts 1 chit in the Ge/It pool.





AllenK -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/29/2019 5:00:22 PM)

Allied rebases due to Vichy

V INF from Casablanca to Malta.
1 ABN to Lbya 80,37
DB-7 to Malta. Use stacking bonus.
Harrow to same hex as ABN
Hurricane to 80,38
CAN MIL from Algiers to 80,37
II INF to Gold Coast 112,22.
AMPH from Casablanca to Gib
TRANS from Tunisia to Gib
AMPH from Bingerville to Acra.

Naval unit control to CW when prompted.








warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/29/2019 8:12:32 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay


quote:

ORIGINAL: warspite1

Axis End of Turn Malarchy
Establish Vichy Government: Yes

No idea what that was all about but apparently there were no throws for Algeria, Syria or Morocco. Free France controls nothing and is completely conquered. Is that even possible?

If there is a French BB not in a French port, two is subtracted from all Vichy rolls. This makes 10 and 9-10 automatic. The French then rolled less than a 9, less than a 5, and less than a 4 on the remaining three die rolls. Clearly the French were exhausted from fighting so long.

About time you got some luck in this game.
warspite1

Sorry I just don't get it. I can see why the program never rolled for:

Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia
French West Africa
Syria
Indo-China
and
All other territories and minors

The maximum that could be rolled (with the -2) is an 8 and so achieving the 10 or 9-10 range required is impossible.

I can also see why Madagascar - range 8-10 (roll 6(4))
All Asian minors & territories - 7-10 (roll 7(5))
French Equatorial Africa - 3-10 (roll 2(0))

all failed.

But why did the roll for

All Pacific Ocean minors and territories - 2-10 (roll 7(5)) fail? The roll was within the range? Surely this is Free French?


EDIT:

There is one possible explanation - although this is just guesswork as I can't see anything in RAC that suggests this.

Could it be that as there are no Pacific Ocean minors and territories with a capital (Indo-China is dealt with separately) therefore Free France can't be set up without a capital?

I tried rolling the same numbers (except this time I threw a 10 for Madagascar). Madagascar (which has a capital) went Free French - and so did the Pacific Ocean minors.

So I tried the same again (putting Madagascar back to rolling a 6) and this time All Asian minors and territories (which, like the Pacific territories, don't have a capital) rolled a 10. Same answer. Free France is completely conquered.

Finally I allowed French Equatorial Africa to fall within Free French range and again it worked. There are five capitals to choose from and so Free France was set up and the Pacific territory of New Caledonia joined it.

I ran the original numbers again and it is weird that the dice roll for the Pacific doesn't show (which only adds to the confusion) but at least the concept makes sense. But, unless I've missed it, why can't this be explained in RAC or RAW?






Centuur -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/30/2019 12:44:19 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: warspite1

quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay


quote:

ORIGINAL: warspite1

Axis End of Turn Malarchy
Establish Vichy Government: Yes

No idea what that was all about but apparently there were no throws for Algeria, Syria or Morocco. Free France controls nothing and is completely conquered. Is that even possible?

If there is a French BB not in a French port, two is subtracted from all Vichy rolls. This makes 10 and 9-10 automatic. The French then rolled less than a 9, less than a 5, and less than a 4 on the remaining three die rolls. Clearly the French were exhausted from fighting so long.

About time you got some luck in this game.
warspite1

Sorry I just don't get it. I can see why the program never rolled for:

Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia
French West Africa
Syria
Indo-China
and
All other territories and minors

The maximum that could be rolled (with the -2) is an 8 and so achieving the 10 or 9-10 range required is impossible.

I can also see why Madagascar - range 8-10 (roll 6(4))
All Asian minors & territories - 7-10 (roll 7(5))
French Equatorial Africa - 3-10 (roll 2(0))

all failed.

But why did the roll for

All Pacific Ocean minors and territories - 2-10 (roll 7(5)) fail? The roll was within the range? Surely this is Free French?


EDIT:

There is one possible explanation - although this is just guesswork as I can't see anything in RAC that suggests this.

Could it be that as there are no Pacific Ocean minors and territories with a capital (Indo-China is dealt with separately) therefore Free France can't be set up without a capital?

I tried rolling the same numbers (except this time I threw a 10 for Madagascar). Madagascar (which has a capital) went Free French - and so did the Pacific Ocean minors.

So I tried the same again (putting Madagascar back to rolling a 6) and this time All Asian minors and territories (which, like the Pacific territories, don't have a capital) rolled a 10. Same answer. Free France is completely conquered.

Finally I allowed French Equatorial Africa to fall within Free French range and again it worked. There are five capitals to choose from and so Free France was set up and the Pacific territory of New Caledonia joined it.

I ran the original numbers again and it is weird that the dice roll for the Pacific doesn't show (which only adds to the confusion) but at least the concept makes sense. But, unless I've missed it, why can't this be explained in RAC or RAW?





You are completely right here. It's somewhat confusing, but that's the rules.

By the way: if you want to continue this game and not get into trouble, you should load the last beta test version. The alternative is to answer "no" every time you get question to revert former French controlled minors and territories to Free France (because Free France will not exist in this game, until Paris is liberated, according to the rules). In the latest version for the beta testers, this bug has been fixed.




warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/30/2019 6:10:49 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Centuur

quote:

ORIGINAL: warspite1

quote:

ORIGINAL: Courtenay


quote:

ORIGINAL: warspite1

Axis End of Turn Malarchy
Establish Vichy Government: Yes

No idea what that was all about but apparently there were no throws for Algeria, Syria or Morocco. Free France controls nothing and is completely conquered. Is that even possible?

If there is a French BB not in a French port, two is subtracted from all Vichy rolls. This makes 10 and 9-10 automatic. The French then rolled less than a 9, less than a 5, and less than a 4 on the remaining three die rolls. Clearly the French were exhausted from fighting so long.

About time you got some luck in this game.
warspite1

Sorry I just don't get it. I can see why the program never rolled for:

Morocco, Algeria and Tunisia
French West Africa
Syria
Indo-China
and
All other territories and minors

The maximum that could be rolled (with the -2) is an 8 and so achieving the 10 or 9-10 range required is impossible.

I can also see why Madagascar - range 8-10 (roll 6(4))
All Asian minors & territories - 7-10 (roll 7(5))
French Equatorial Africa - 3-10 (roll 2(0))

all failed.

But why did the roll for

All Pacific Ocean minors and territories - 2-10 (roll 7(5)) fail? The roll was within the range? Surely this is Free French?


EDIT:

There is one possible explanation - although this is just guesswork as I can't see anything in RAC that suggests this.

Could it be that as there are no Pacific Ocean minors and territories with a capital (Indo-China is dealt with separately) therefore Free France can't be set up without a capital?

I tried rolling the same numbers (except this time I threw a 10 for Madagascar). Madagascar (which has a capital) went Free French - and so did the Pacific Ocean minors.

So I tried the same again (putting Madagascar back to rolling a 6) and this time All Asian minors and territories (which, like the Pacific territories, don't have a capital) rolled a 10. Same answer. Free France is completely conquered.

Finally I allowed French Equatorial Africa to fall within Free French range and again it worked. There are five capitals to choose from and so Free France was set up and the Pacific territory of New Caledonia joined it.

I ran the original numbers again and it is weird that the dice roll for the Pacific doesn't show (which only adds to the confusion) but at least the concept makes sense. But, unless I've missed it, why can't this be explained in RAC or RAW?





You are completely right here. It's somewhat confusing, but that's the rules.

By the way: if you want to continue this game and not get into trouble, you should load the last beta test version. The alternative is to answer "no" every time you get question to revert former French controlled minors and territories to Free France (because Free France will not exist in this game, until Paris is liberated, according to the rules). In the latest version for the beta testers, this bug has been fixed.
warspite1

Thank-you.




warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/30/2019 7:28:30 PM)

Mare Nostrum and the New Roman Empire... how's that working out for you Il Duce?

[image]local://upfiles/28156/8195CCF9C7D1488F9C5526FFD0F82FDD.jpg[/image]




warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/30/2019 7:35:13 PM)

The Germans are asked if they want to establish a Vichy Government. I say yes as it seems like the sensible thing to do.

A 9 is rolled for US Entry and a chit added to the German/Italian pool.

Here are the rolls. In addition to RAC and RAW not spelling out the capitals thing, the display further added to my confusion as the roll for the Pacific Minor didn't appear (unlike the others).....

So for the reasons explained above, there is no Free France in this alternate history. There are rumours that a French General tried to get an alternative government set up to counter the Vichy 'traitors' but he was killed in a plane crash soon after arriving in the UK....

[image]local://upfiles/28156/E082B600DE5D4CC69E635BC6CF6AD028.jpg[/image]




warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/30/2019 8:04:28 PM)

The Vichy forces remaining on map are as follows:

[image]local://upfiles/28156/004947AB0E4E479BB4CC3C10A6AED3F6.jpg[/image]

Metropolitan Vichy France
HQ - Pretelat
6-4 INF, 3-3 INF
4-4 MTN
VG-33 FTR
4 x Cruisers
2 x Submarines
2 x Convoys

Algeria (Oran)
5 x Cruisers
1 x Convoy

Morocco (Casablanca and Mogador)
2 x Cruisers
4 x Convoys

Syria (Beirut)
3-2 TERR
6 x Cruisers
1 x Convoy
5 x Oil

Senegal (Dakar)
7 x Battleships
1 x TRS
1 x Convoy

New Caledonia (Noumea)
1 x Cruiser




warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/30/2019 8:16:46 PM)

[Adopts best Brucie voice] Let's have a look at the old scoreboard...

[image]local://upfiles/28156/F8915C37B31E4B42A3CC069E3C58B307.jpg[/image]




AllenK -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/30/2019 8:55:07 PM)

Allied Reinforcements

Chinese pilot deployed to P-36A and Kweiyang.

CW - Pilots to Mosquito in Southampton and Blenheim IV in Bristol. CA/CL's to Liverpool. CP to Liverpool. MECH Div to Bristol, CP to Calcutta.

US - Pilot to Hudson, San Diego. TRANS San Diego. INF San Diego.

USSR - Pilot to FTR2 Sevastopol. Pilot to TB3 Krasdodar. GARR to Smolensk. INF to Gomel.

No changes to Allied trade agreements.

Initiative: Axis 8, Allies 7. Allies decide not to reroll, so Axis are going first as per instructions.

Weather is a mixed bag (9 rolled).



[image]local://upfiles/47730/4F7F3E6405DB4889A5B91938C3E8C559.jpg[/image]




warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (12/31/2019 7:37:12 AM)

July/August 1942
Impulse: 1 (Axis)

Declarations of War and Alignments: None

Germany: Land
Italy: Land
Japan: Combined

Port Attack: None
Naval Air:
Germany
Ju-88c to Baltic Sea 3-box

Naval Movement:
Japan

2 x TRS from Bangkok to China Sea and pick up INF and MECH
2 x Sub from Formosa to South China Sea 2-box

Strategic Bombing: None
Ground Strike: None

Rail Movement:
Italy

A GARR moves from Taranto to Trieste

Land Movement:
Japan

There is some detail manoeuvrings in the south and central China

Germany

German troops re-position; most begin to head east, while some get to stay in France.

Italy

Italian forces in France begin the long trek home and there are a few moves within Italy to begin preparations for the defence.

Land Combat: None

Air Rebase:
Japan

A FTR moves from Canton to Siam
Two NAV from Soryu switch to different carriers in Fukuoka

Germany

The Germans move a couple of fighters and a bomber east

Italy

A G.50 moves from France to Milan

HQ Reorganisation: None

End of Impulse




AllenK -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/1/2020 4:05:02 PM)

J/A 42 Allies 3

No DoW or alignments.

Naval: CW
Land: China
Combined: US, USSR.

Beaufighters from Malta head out to the Italian Coast and West Med 3-boxes.

CW sends various escorts out into the Atlantic and Med. A CP sails from Gib to West Med.A TF of 3 CV, 3 BB and 2 CA sails from Gib to Italian Coast 3-box. CVL, 3 BB's and 3 CA's sail from Gib to West Med 3-box. CV Glorious sails from Gib back to Plymouth. Queens sail from Singapore to Mozambique Chanel and load a TERR from Cape Town.

No naval combat or rail moves.

ChiComms use the USSR move limits up with some minor moves. Principal one is CAV and MTN push eastwards into the mountains at 74,140.

Nationalists make some minor adjustments.

No combat.

Mosquito rebases from Southampton to Bristol.

Soviets rebase TB3 from Krasnodar to Evaptoria.

No reorgs.

On a 1, the weather turns sunny nearly everywhere.

[image]local://upfiles/47730/4023655C55C44FCFB556B12A4FD3FF61.jpg[/image]




warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/1/2020 6:23:28 PM)

July/August 1942
Impulse: 5 (Axis)


Declarations of War and Alignments: None

Germany: Land
Italy: Combined
Japan: Land

Port Attack: None
Naval Air: None

Strategic Bombing: None
Ground Strike: None

Rail Movement:
Germany

An ARM is railed from Paris to Warsaw
von Rundstedt is railed to Bucharest
A 7-3 INF is railed to Krakow

Italy

An INF is railed from Nantes to east of Rome

Land Movement:
Japan

A couple of moves only - one in Southern China and the other in Manchuria

Germany

German troops continue east

Italy

The remaining two Italian units in France continue east to Italy via Switzerland

Land Combat: None

Air Rebase:
Germany

A Stuka is sent to East Prussia
Two FTR's rebase in Belgium
A FTR flies to Brno

Italy

A FTR moves to Bari from Milan
A Z.1007 moves from France to Taranto
A FTR flies one hex southeast of Milan

Japan

A NAV moves to Canton

HQ Reorganisation: None







AllenK -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/1/2020 7:46:18 PM)

J/A 42 Allies 6

No DoW or alignments.

Land: CW, China.
Combined: The rest.

The RAF try ground strikes in Ethiopia. Blenheims miss but the Hampdens find their target.

[image]local://upfiles/47730/DE00E99A8FFE4E8087FD1CE543442155.jpg[/image]




AllenK -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/1/2020 7:56:12 PM)

The ChiComms liberate Taiyuan and make a couple of other minor moves.

[image]local://upfiles/47730/85BA2FB56BE649A5B9D93D4503785232.jpg[/image]




AllenK -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/1/2020 8:19:48 PM)

The Nationalists make a couple of minor adjustments.

CW forces gather around the disorganised Italian unit in Ethiopia. A couple of other minor moves are made in UK and Malaya.

One attack announced in Ethiopia. Odds are 4:1. I'll pick Assault as all the possible retreat hexes are ZOC'd. The Ethopian HQ is requested to give support.

The attack achieves its objective but the Ethopians are a spent force.



[image]local://upfiles/47730/F95406ED0D9D494489A6CCC4A6C98678.jpg[/image]




AllenK -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/1/2020 8:23:13 PM)

No rebases or reorgs.

Weather stays the same on a 4.

[image]local://upfiles/47730/54F186A431E0477BA677AC68C33B1881.jpg[/image]




warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/2/2020 4:37:34 PM)

July/August 1942
Impulse: 7 (Axis)


Declarations of War and Alignments: None

Germany: Combined
Italy: Combined
Japan: Land

Port Attack: None
Naval Air: None

Naval Movement:
Vichy

A convoy moves from North Africa to the Western Mediterranean

Strategic Bombing: None
Ground Strike: None

Rail Movement:
Germany

An SS ARM is railed from France to Slovakia

Land Movement:
Japan

An INF moves from Singora one hex east and the GARR in Paoting moves one hex southwest

Germany

Six German units continue east (except for a MTN that moves into Italy).

Italy

The remaining two Italian units in Germany continue south towards Italy

Land Combat: None

Air Rebase:
Germany

A Stuka in France is sent to La Spezia
A Stuka in France is sent to Munich
A Stuka in France is sent to Strasbourg
Two Fighters in East Prussia move south
A Stuka in East Prussia moves to Transylvannia

Italy

A Sparviero moves two hexes southeast to Genoa

Japan

A FTR in Singora moves to Bangkok

HQ Reorganisation: None

End of Turn: The turn ends on less than a 2 (an 8 is thrown)




AllenK -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/4/2020 5:42:22 PM)

J/A 42 Allied 8

No DoW or alignments.

Land: China
Combined: The rest.

Naval Movement

CW - TRANS at Tripoli loads the MAR and sails to West Med 3-box. AMPH at Gib sails to West Med 3-box and loads INF from Malta.
US - TRANS at San Diego loads Hudson and takes it to Pago Pago.

The ChiComms push a couple of units forwards and the CAV Div disorganises itself as it too pushes eastwatds.

[image]local://upfiles/47730/A873C40DA05D4905B033504018CC6B83.jpg[/image]




AllenK -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/4/2020 6:50:11 PM)

The Nationalists make a couple of minor moves.

CW MAR and INF from West Med invade the resource hex NW of Cagliari in Sardinia. The attack is automatic with or without the notional. I include it as at one time there was a problem when it wasn't included and I'm not sure whether or not that has been resolved.

No ground support or shore bombardment from the Allies and I decline the Axis as with 0 combat factors, the missions would be pointless. The MAR and INF get ashore in Sardinia.

CW rebases DB-7 from Malta to Sardinia. Blenheim rebases from Bristol to 51,24 in Cornwall.

No reorgs.

Turn continues on a 5 (less than 3 needed).

Weather remains mostly fine but deteriorates in North Monsoon.





[image]local://upfiles/47730/1AD5BC21644640B2AD87123EB815ED0F.jpg[/image]




warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/4/2020 7:38:48 PM)

July/August 1942
Impulse: 9 (Axis)


Declarations of War and Alignments: None

Germany: Combined
Italy: Naval
Japan: Land

Port Attack: None
Naval Air:

2 x Condor fly to West Med 3-box
2 x Sparveiro fly to West Med 3-box

Naval Movement:
Italy

Absolutely no idea what I was smoking last night but safe to say the utter bilge I was writing can be ignored....

...anyways....

An Italian fleet puts to sea. Do the CW wish to intercept?

[image]local://upfiles/28156/6347BFA0926D4B719665FB1FAE7CBF05.jpg[/image]




AllenK -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/5/2020 8:11:36 AM)

I’ve E-mailed you. When you tried the 11 ship TF, did the interception box come up. If not, it might have been hidden, hence getting stuck.




AllenK -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/5/2020 8:16:42 AM)

No thanks




warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/5/2020 8:17:04 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: AllenK

I’ve E-mailed you. When you tried the 11 ship TF, did the interception box come up. If not, it might have been hidden, hence getting stuck.
warspite1

No it's nothing to do with forms being hidden and everything to do with yours truly being a knob. Please see question above.




warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/5/2020 8:18:43 AM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: AllenK

No thanks
warspite1

The Italians take up position in the 3-box.




warspite1 -> RE: Folly a deux: AllenK vs Warspite1 AAR (1/5/2020 8:21:57 AM)

July/August 1942
Impulse: 9 (Axis)


A second task force takes to sea. Do the CW wish to intercept them?

[image]local://upfiles/28156/B8F864B872B74B9E9B3A0DBBD74BDB1C.jpg[/image]




Page: <<   < prev  34 35 [36] 37 38   next >   >>

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
0.6875