THREAD War: Mike & Mike - Mike Solli (J) vs. USS America (A) (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> After Action Reports

USSAmerica -> THREAD War: Mike & Mike - Mike Solli (J) vs. USS America (A) (2/28/2019 7:24:58 PM)

Mike and I have been friends online for many years and it's finally time to face off in the Pacific. [8D]

He approached me a couple of months ago about starting a game and is happy to have one with a relatively slow pace. Once we get rolling, I'm hoping to get in 3-4 turns/week. He has had his game going with Ted for many years now and is eager to start applying some of his lessons learned to a new game. Despite being an AE Plank Owner, I have very little time and experience with actual games. I've never had a game make it into '43. I'm hoping that lots of reading and learning in the forums will help to make up for some lack of experience.

We're playing stock Scn 1 with the latest official patch. The twist for us that is completely new for Mike and an adjustment for me is that we're going to try 2 day turns. Everything we've read seems to indicate that it slows down the operational pace of both sides a bit as you have to be a little more cautious with your orders. We're hoping 2 day turns will also allow us to make some progress in time in the game despite a slow pace of play. We learned (thanks Alfred!) that there is a new command line switch that the Japanese player can run the game with that will allow switching between 1 and 2 day turns, so we're using only 1 day turn for the first turn, then Mike will switch it to 2 day turns. The first turn will be Non-Historical.