Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition



Message


Encircled -> Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 1:07:57 PM)

help required please as I'm not 100% sure of the rules here.

I'm trying to move a unit into a base over a river which is contested (about 2 to 1 in his favour) which I own.

Will this trigger an automatic shock attack? (which I obviously don't want!)




geofflambert -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 1:18:03 PM)

If you cross a hexside he owns it will trigger an attack. Hit the W key if you forget who owns the hexside.

Correction: You say you own the hex? Then I'm not sure, even if it is his hexside. I don't think it will and you'll be cutting off supply to him through one hexside. I don't remember ever triggering an attack against an interloper.




Encircled -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 1:20:11 PM)

So if I own the hex, it won't trigger a shock attack?

Whatever the odds?




GetAssista -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 1:51:50 PM)

If your unit has 0 AV no shock attack will happen.
Otherwise, I think the rule about the sufficient bridgehead does not depend on base presence or ownership.




Encircled -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 2:07:34 PM)

So that means there will be a ahock attack if I cross?




Encircled -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 2:33:12 PM)

I'm not sending back my turn till I get a definite answer here! [;)]




821Bobo -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 3:39:19 PM)

It depends on the hex side you are crossing from. Hex ownership doesn't matter. As gorn suggested, check using 'w'.




Evoken -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 3:49:24 PM)

Moving across a River hex side will also cause the crossing unit to initiate a shock attack unless the
moving side has a presence of friendly units that are already in the hex that meet a threshold
of strength when compared to the non-moving side , this is from the manual but i cant find what the threshold is




Encircled -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 4:00:10 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: 821Bobo

It depends on the hex side you are crossing from. Hex ownership doesn't matter. As gorn suggested, check using 'w'.


I own the hex, I also own the hexside I'm crossing from.

Based on what you two are saying, its ok




Encircled -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 4:01:31 PM)


quote:

ORIGINAL: Evoken

Moving across a River hex side will also cause the crossing unit to initiate a shock attack unless the
moving side has a presence of friendly units that are already in the hex that meet a threshold
of strength when compared to the non-moving side , this is from the manual but i cant find what the threshold is


Which what I've been looking for as well

So at the moment, two reckon it will be ok, and two reckon it won't be!

Going to go back to trying to find the relevent bit in the manual

Has someone got some sort of call sign for Alfred like the batsignal or something? [;)]




BBfanboy -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 4:12:15 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Encircled


quote:

ORIGINAL: Evoken

Moving across a River hex side will also cause the crossing unit to initiate a shock attack unless the
moving side has a presence of friendly units that are already in the hex that meet a threshold
of strength when compared to the non-moving side , this is from the manual but i cant find what the threshold is


Which what I've been looking for as well

So at the moment, two reckon it will be ok, and two reckon it won't be!

Going to go back to trying to find the relevent bit in the manual

Has someone got some sort of call sign for Alfred like the batsignal or something? [;)]

The first check is whether the enemy owned the hexside by virtue of having used it to enter your base hex. He did not so that check is passed.
The second check might not apply since you already own the hex. My guess is you have no problem because you own the base and the hex side.




821Bobo -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 4:18:40 PM)

Yes, you should be OK.

http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/fb.asp?m=2892227




Encircled -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 4:25:52 PM)

Fantastic help guys

Really couldn't find it in the manual so thank you to you all!




geofflambert -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/26/2020 8:32:37 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Encircled


quote:

ORIGINAL: 821Bobo

It depends on the hex side you are crossing from. Hex ownership doesn't matter. As gorn suggested, check using 'w'.


I own the hex, I also own the hexside I'm crossing from.

Based on what you two are saying, its ok


You can go back and forth all day long through a hexside you own. Your supplies are.




LeeChard -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/27/2020 12:33:01 PM)

I have crossed a river hexside to a contested hex that I DON'T own but have units in countless times without triggering shock attack. The moving units are in combat mode though. This happens a lot when I am trying to take Singapore.




GetAssista -> RE: Moving a unit into a contested base hex over a river (10/27/2020 1:58:53 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: geofflambert
You can go back and forth all day long through a hexside you own. Your supplies are.

No. See that bridgehead explanation in the link 821Bobo provided.
This one http://www.matrixgames.com/forums/fb.asp?m=2892227


quote:

ORIGINAL: LeeChard
I have crossed a river hexside to a contested hex that I DON'T own but have units in countless times without triggering shock attack. The moving units are in combat mode though. This happens a lot when I am trying to take Singapore.

Same as above. There is no such thing as hex ownership in WITP. Only hexside ownership matters for whatever passage rules.
Also, it is pretty hard to enter Singers through enemy-owned hexside and already have units there, cause the latter entered through that hexside too. So bridgehead rules apply




Page: [1]

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
0.8046875