Impressions of 8.2? (Full Version)

All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns

wodin -> Impressions of 8.2? (7/2/2004 1:04:50 PM)

Can people give others who have yet to download it their impressions of the 8.2 update.

To me as a newbie I dont know the game well enough to comment on them.

However I have seen a couple of negative reports so what do you guys think.

I think its still an awesome FREE game but arent in a posistion to know whether the update improves it.

Warrior2 -> RE: Impressions of 8.2? (7/2/2004 1:43:14 PM)

How can there be negative impressions at this early date? I, for one, will have to play it awhile before I make a judgement.

Jim1954 -> RE: Impressions of 8.2? (7/2/2004 1:47:39 PM)

My initial impression is that combat, both infantry and armor seems to be a lot deadlier than before but I need to try a lot more things before I really am sure. Graphics are quite nice, but some of the scenarios, especially the ones numbered above 326 don't seem to point to anything.

Toivo -> RE: Impressions of 8.2? (7/2/2004 2:38:15 PM)

I'm waiting for that total changelog which is mentioned in "OOB changes". Would be quite big and include every change made in v8.2

Concerning OOB - special German OOBs which appear under Norway in 1949 December or in 1945 August in Nationalist Spain/Czechoslovakia such as jet aircraft, all special armor, foreign waffen-ss volunteers and so on ar really great!
Really great thing is recovery-vechile for AFVs - it can load immobilized tanks, even huge german heavy armor. Immobilization can be fixed while loaded on recovery vechile aswell.

None of this appears under regular OOB though...

However I did not find a few units. 60cm mortar Thor for exsample. Mine dogs with anti-tank mines do not seem to work or maybe there's some special way to use them.
One one 82mm mortars under norway appears as onboard plane unit.