Rules clarification help needed (Full Version)

All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Empires in Arms the Napoleonic Wars of 1805 - 1815



Message


Barbu -> Rules clarification help needed (10/14/2004 5:41:28 AM)

I figured this board is good place to clear up some of the confusion regarding a few rules.

7.2.3.2 SUPPLY CHAIN DEFINITION: A "supply chain" is a series of one major power's depots that are placed no more than two areas apart and lead back to a supply source of that major power.

Does it mean that there can be no more than 2 areas between the 2 depots (i.e. the 2nd depot can be up to 3 areas away from the first), or that the 2nd depot can be only 2 areas away from the first (1 area between depots)?


7.3.7.1 ENEMY CORPS OR CITY GARRISON IN AREA: If during movement a corps moves into an area containing enemy corps not in a city, the corps must cease movement and declare an attack. If enemy corps and/or garrison factors are in a city the phasing corps may continue movement or stop movement and besiege (see 7.5.4) or not, as the owning player desires.

7.5.1.1 DEFENDER RETIREMENT INTO CITY: Any forces or portion o 1f forces upon whom an attack is declared may immediately retire into any friendly controlled or vacant, and unbesieged city in that area but not so as to exceed that city's garrison capacity

If I understand correctly, a single corpse with 1 factor would stop any movement until the land combat phase, and can then retire into the city (if any) and avoid any pp loss?


7.4.1.2.1 Other Corps In The Area: For each other unbesieged corps in the area it currently occupies, whether that major power's or not (including friendly and enemy corps and corps which have, and corps which have not, already moved during this step), " + 1 is added to the result of the die, up to a maximum of " + 2 ". NOTE: This does not include corps that leave the area as a result of the 7.3.8 procedures.

My understanding for this one is that the modifier is applied from the area in which movement is ended, not in the area whose forage value is used. I've seen quite a few people disagree though, and say instead that it's the number of corps present in the area that is being used for forage, or even strictly the number of corps foraging in the area.




pfnognoff -> RE: Rules clarification help needed (10/14/2004 8:51:05 AM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: Barbu

I figured this board is good place to clear up some of the confusion regarding a few rules.

7.2.3.2 SUPPLY CHAIN DEFINITION: A "supply chain" is a series of one major power's depots that are placed no more than two areas apart and lead back to a supply source of that major power.

Does it mean that there can be no more than 2 areas between the 2 depots (i.e. the 2nd depot can be up to 3 areas away from the first), or that the 2nd depot can be only 2 areas away from the first (1 area between depots)?


depot - 1 - 2 - army that was the max distance, how we used to play it.

quote:



7.3.7.1 ENEMY CORPS OR CITY GARRISON IN AREA: If during movement a corps moves into an area containing enemy corps not in a city, the corps must cease movement and declare an attack. If enemy corps and/or garrison factors are in a city the phasing corps may continue movement or stop movement and besiege (see 7.5.4) or not, as the owning player desires.

7.5.1.1 DEFENDER RETIREMENT INTO CITY: Any forces or portion o 1f forces upon whom an attack is declared may immediately retire into any friendly controlled or vacant, and unbesieged city in that area but not so as to exceed that city's garrison capacity

If I understand correctly, a single corpse with 1 factor would stop any movement until the land combat phase, and can then retire into the city (if any) and avoid any pp loss?


This is the grayest area in the whole rule book. We used to play that all corps move separately, so the corps is asked every time a corps enters weather they retire or not. It gave the phasing player opportunity to receive a free PP if the corps that was declared outside, choose to withdraw too late (assuming it is 1 factor corps) [;)]

quote:



7.4.1.2.1 Other Corps In The Area: For each other unbesieged corps in the area it currently occupies, whether that major power's or not (including friendly and enemy corps and corps which have, and corps which have not, already moved during this step), " + 1 is added to the result of the die, up to a maximum of " + 2 ". NOTE: This does not include corps that leave the area as a result of the 7.3.8 procedures.

My understanding for this one is that the modifier is applied from the area in which movement is ended, not in the area whose forage value is used. I've seen quite a few people disagree though, and say instead that it's the number of corps present in the area that is being used for forage, or even strictly the number of corps foraging in the area.


Foraging roll is made after the move so if it says "in the area it currently occupies" (the moment the roll is made) only corps from the area where the move ended count.




Murat -> RE: Rules clarification help needed (10/14/2004 9:28:13 AM)

We did:

1] depot/space/depot

2] 1st attacking corps initiates combat, defender either stays or retreats into city, if they stay, they are stuck in battle no matter what attacker adds to the area, if they retreat, they get beseiged and attacker can move through.

3] 7.4.1.1 FORAGING PROCEDURE: A die is rolled for each foraging corps as it completes movement (but after resolving any 7.3.8 procedures that may be caused by its movement). This die roll is modified as in 7.4.1.2, if any modifiers apply. The modified die result is than compared with the forage value of the area with the lowest forage value of all the areas passed through or stopped in, not counting the area in which the corps started (unless the corps did not move and remained in one area), during its Land Movement Step. If the modified die result is equal to or less than this forage value, there is no effect. For each modified die point above the forage value, the corps must lose one army factor.
7.4.1.2 FORAGING MODIFIERS: When the die is rolled for a foraging corps, the following cumulative modifiers may apply:
7.4.1.2.1 Other Corps In The Area: For each other unbesieged corps in the area it currently occupies, whether that major power's or not (including friendly and enemy corps and corps which have, and corps which have not, already moved during this step), " + 1 is added to the result of the die, up to a maximum of " + 2 ". NOTE: This does not include corps that leave the area as a result of the 7.3.8 procedures.
7.4.1.2.2 Unused Movement Points: For each movement point the corps did not use, one is subtracted from the die. EXCEPTION: The die is not modified due to unused movement points if the corps is besieging or plans to besiege enemy forces in the area.

We always played this as the worst forage spot. If you pass through a 2 zone with no corps, and a 4 zone with 4 corps during your movement, and have 1 mp left, you are rolling -v- a 2 forage from the 4 zone (+4 corps - 1 movement point remaining = +3 to die, + 2 is max so the 4 value becomes a 2). Some would say you were rolling -v- a 0 (have to use lowest zone - the 2 and the most corps - the 4).




eg0master -> RE: Rules clarification help needed (10/14/2004 10:05:29 AM)

Regarding supply chain we used to play depot-step-depot-step-depot-step.
I think it was due to the fact we read something along these lines in an official errata or on the old EiA mailing list. It definitly was not from just reading the rules.

Ragarding retirement into city rule 7.5 clearly states the combat phase begins after ALL movement and supply. This means a single 1 factor corp can block movement of any number of corps and once in the combat phase it may withdraw into the city prior to the battle.

Regarding forage modifier for corps we used the number of corps in the area where movement ends. I think this also was clearified in the errata and/or mailing list.




Mark Breed -> RE: Rules clarification help needed (10/14/2004 10:24:59 PM)

quote:

ORIGINAL: eg0master

Ragarding retirement into city rule 7.5 clearly states the combat phase begins after ALL movement and supply. This means a single 1 factor corp can block movement of any number of corps and once in the combat phase it may withdraw into the city prior to the battle.

Regarding forage modifier for corps we used the number of corps in the area where movement ends. I think this also was clearified in the errata and/or mailing list.



egOmaster,

Your interpretation is not accurate.

Rule 7.3.2 states: " Each counter is moved individually."

Rule 7.3.7.1 states: "If during movement a corps moves into an area containing enemy corps not in a city, the corps must cease movement and declare an attack."

Rule 7.5.1.1 states: "Any forces or portion of forces upon whom an attack is declared may immediately retire into any friendly controlled or vacant, and unbeseiged city in that area ..."

Therefore, as soon as the first corps enters into an area with an enemy force, it must declare the attack. Then, the enemy force must decide whether or not to be in the city. Then, each additional friendly corps enters into or moves through the area prior to resolution of the battle/siege.

So, the enemy blocking force can only stop the movement through an area of only one corps (the first to enter) before it must decide to be in the city or not. If it falls into the city, subsequent friendly corps may continue movement through the area without stopping.

In addition,

Rule "7.3.1.4 FORAGING WHILE MOVING: Although the rules are covered in the Supply Step, foraging (see 7.4.1) is performed while corps are being moved."

Rule "7.4.1.1 FORAGING PROCEDURE: A die is rolled for each foraging corps as it completes movement..."

Therefore, foraging is performed after the movement of each corps. This means that the first corps in the area is not penalized for more than one corps being in the area at the time of foraging, unless another corps was in the area at the start of the turn and did not move. The second corps only faces a +1 modifier for there being a corps already there and the third and subsequent corps to stop face a +2 modifier for other corps in the area.

Regards,
Mark




eg0master -> RE: Rules clarification help needed (10/15/2004 9:31:36 AM)

The forage twist was something new. Reading the rules carefully thinking about this it even says corps not yet moved also count. Nice twist.

About the retirement into city, I remered wrong from the EiA FAQ (which I looked up: https://www.student.gsu.edu/~pyang1/ejg/games/eia/eiafaq.txt). I stand corrected.




Ozie -> RE: Rules clarification help needed (10/21/2004 8:28:09 PM)

7.4.1.2.5 In Own Territory: If the corps did not move into an area outside the major power's territory this Turn and is not now in such an area, "+ 1" is subtracted from the die roll.

What is considered "own territory"? Conquered minor? Free state? Controlled minor?




carnifex -> RE: Rules clarification help needed (10/21/2004 9:02:48 PM)

All of the above. Otherwise the term "home nation provinces" would be used.




Ozie -> RE: Rules clarification help needed (10/27/2004 6:56:13 PM)

How many Freikorps/Cossak counters there are in the game per country?

Im mostly intrested in Prussia's counters but other info would be useful too.




Ozie -> RE: Rules clarification help needed (10/27/2004 7:51:19 PM)

I've found a reference saying Russia has 6 Cossacks at one specific time. Is this the maximum number of counters?

Aus and Pru have both only 1 Fk?




carnifex -> RE: Rules clarification help needed (10/27/2004 8:27:12 PM)

correct on both




Page: [1]

Valid CSS!




Forum Software © ASPPlayground.NET Advanced Edition 2.4.5 ANSI
1.328125