Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Editor Question--Rivers

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Advanced Tactics Series >> Editor Question--Rivers Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Editor Question--Rivers - 9/27/2009 1:35:39 PM   
Eirhead

Been playing with the editor for a while but this is my first attempt at a full game.
Trying my hand at a Market-Garden scenerio and was wondering the best way to stop tanks/trucks crossing rivers without bridges.
Should I line rivers with swamp hexes? Create "new" river terrain? or is there a way to increase the movement cost over the default river hexes?
I was thinking of not using production,only reinforcements with engineers for the allies after a few turns.
Maybe MG isn't the best battle to use, with para drops, supply issues, and river/bridge problems so any advice would be welcome.
Thanks in advance
Post #: 1
RE: Editor Question--Rivers - 9/27/2009 1:42:11 PM   
Tufkal2

You can set the cost to cross unbridged rivers separately for all SFTypes (under River -> River Types -> Move-over-penalties ). So it is straightforward to set this to 9999 for armour so armor will not be able to cross. I think you will additionally make sure that also land and strategic transfer will not allow tanks to be transported over bridges in order to avoid this, too (or maybe disallow transfer over bridges altogether).
Sounds like a challenging and interesting setup.
Good luck modding.

(in reply to Eirhead)
Post #: 2
RE: Editor Question--Rivers - 9/27/2009 2:36:22 PM   
Eirhead

Yeah,I may have bitten off more than I can chew (like Monty)but it should give me a good work out with the finer points of the editor.