Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Civilian Freighters: The Long Haul!

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Distant Worlds 1 Series >> Civilian Freighters: The Long Haul! Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Civilian Freighters: The Long Haul! - 11/29/2011 8:27:30 PM   
LeonTheNeon

I just started playing DW again with the release of Legends so I don't recall if this was an issue in the original game or not.

I find that my civilian freighters don't seem to understand that flying to the other end of the galaxy is not a very effective means of procuring or selling products.

Is there a reason they do this?

I'm playing an 8x8, 1000 [EDIT: Correction 700] Star game and literally almost every single civilian freighter has decided to go see the some empire on the literal other end of the galaxy. And this isn't to pick up some rares spices .... no this is to get materials like Caslon and Steel. Surely there must be closer sources of this. In fact, checking my own empires mining stations I see that there is steel and caslon ready for pick up.

Now the extra wrinkle is this. It *seems* like they have a preference to go to empires with whom I have a free trade agreement. Is that so? If so I appreciate their desire to increase my empires Trade Revenue from the FTA but I would rather have speedy deliver of goods.

Ultimately. regardless of the cause, it would be nice if civilian freighters had a keener understanding of their fuel limits and didn't so scampering off the far reaches of the galaxy leaving my economy to falter and die for lack of resources as they slowly limp across the galaxy on fumes.