Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Newbie here...

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition >> Newbie here... Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Newbie here... - 8/31/2021 1:19:02 AM   
Statboy

Bought this game several years ago, but it was too overwhelming and so I put it aside. If the COVID era has taught me anything, it's patience, so I've decided to give it a shot.

I've downloaded the game, the latest official patch, the unofficial patch, a tool to set up the game for a modern computer, my preferred map mod, and some updated scenarios from Andy Mac. And obviously the to-do list by Kull. And then I watched a fantastic series of tutorials and some Let's Plays from Strategy Gaming Dojo on YouTube, which I would recommend to any newbie.

I loaded up the December 8 scenario and messed around and everything is working properly.

But before I really dive deep into it, I was wondering if I'm missing anything. Should I play the December 8 scenario, or would you recommend something different?

Thanks.
Post #: 1
RE: Newbie here... - 8/31/2021 3:37:19 AM   
Kull

It's a good place to start. The comment on patience was dead-on. Like a great woman, this game rewards those who take the time to figure her out.

(in reply to Statboy)
Post #: 2
RE: Newbie here... - 8/31/2021 7:58:54 AM   
Orm

Welcome, Statboy, to the forum. And to the amazing world of War in the Pacific: Admiral's Edition.

Have a bit more patience with newbies. Of course some of them act dumb -- they're often students, for heaven's sake. - Terry Pratchett

(in reply to Kull)
Post #: 3
RE: Newbie here... - 8/31/2021 8:22:40 AM   
GetAssista