Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Defending with Visibility=2 hexes ?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Steel Panthers World At War & Mega Campaigns >> SP:WaW Training Center >> Defending with Visibility=2 hexes ? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Defending with Visibility=2 hexes ? - 6/25/2004 4:00:16 PM   
Yamashita

Have a delay mission coming up with visibility of only 2 hexes, now this is something I've never done before & poses some problems it would seem-as well as some advantages. Any advice or thoughts ??

Also do fires create aditional light ? or just reduced vis due to smoke ?
Post #: 1
RE: Defending with Visibility=2 hexes ? - 6/25/2004 5:01:06 PM   
FlashfyreSP

Any mission that has a viz of 5 or less, forget buying long-range AT stuff...get lots of MGs for anti-infantry, and buy lots of infantry/engineeres...anything with organic AT weapons. If you are facing a nation like Japan with weak armor and lots of infantry, buy foot units that have extra weapons, especially LMGs.

Fires do not affect visibility; all they do is add smoke to the field.

(in reply to Yamashita)
Post #: 2
RE: Defending with Visibility=2 hexes ? - 6/25/2004 5:04:31 PM   
Voriax

Get infantry units armed with submachine guns, if possible. They can mow down full squads with one shot. Flashfyres advice is quite okay, imho

Voriax

Oh God give Me strength to accept those things I cannot change with a firearm!

(in reply to FlashfyreSP)
Post #: 3
RE: Defending with Visibility=2 hexes ? - 6/25/2004 6:34:41 PM   
Poopyhead

Of course, you can extend the visibilible area with a good recon screen. I once outflanked a Polish force in a night action by finding out where they weren't.