Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Best starting country/scenario for a beginner?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [Napoleonics] >> Crown of Glory >> Best starting country/scenario for a beginner? Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Best starting country/scenario for a beginner? - 9/17/2005 11:22:33 PM   
suleo

Hi all,

I recently purchased Crown of Glory and I was wondering what the best(easiest) country/scenario combination is, for a beginner (I don't mind losing at this point, I would just like to learn how to play the game!).

I've tried the default France 1805 scenario but the number of provinces and the number of armies looks quite daunting.

Also, as a beginner, I am planning to use the AI experts for the economy and development aspects and focus on diplomacy and strategy. My question is: how good are those experts?

Finally, is there a way to play detailed battles outside of the grand strategic game? I.e. something similar to 'historic battles' that other games have? If not, this would be a nice feature for future patches/expansions and also a good way to practice the detailed battle skills without having to play the strategic game as well.
Post #: 1
RE: Best starting country/scenario for a beginner? - 9/17/2005 11:59:50 PM   
Hakkapeliitta

I started playing with Sweden in different scenarios, small, easily manageable country, and distant from middle - Europe, no big landlocked neighbours except Russia.

(in reply to suleo)
Post #: 2
RE: Best starting country/scenario for a beginner? - 9/18/2005 12:01:24 AM   
mavraamides

I started with Sweden just to play 8-10 turns and kind of see how things work. Sweden has very few