Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Soviet Production a bit too much / Major Game play issue?

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Gary Grigsby's War in the East Series >> Soviet Production a bit too much / Major Game play issue? Page: [1] 2 3 4   next >   >>
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Soviet Production a bit too much / Major Game play issue? - 3/6/2011 10:01:46 PM   
fsp

I am no expert on Soviet production numbers, but what I am experiencing right now seems a bit far fetched to me, but maybe I am off here:

I am in a German GC 41, it is now December 1942 and I occupy 272 victory points, I have taken a line from Leningrad to Moscow (almost to Gorki), Saransk, Penza, Saratov, Boguchar, Rostov.

Soviet casualties: 10m men, 145k guns and 24k tanks.

In my book, the Soviets should basically be dead or severly hampered by the ground I took. Yet from 10 September 1942 to 17 December 1942, Soviet tank strength rose from 3812 to 9413 (that is almost as much than they had for Bagration in 1944!)and planes rose from 10339 to 14790. Soldiers from 3.71m to 4.19m, but that doesn't really bug me.

Most of the Soviet units are very weak so I am pretty confident I will grab the final victory points in the summer (it's just normal, so not a big achievement, but it is only my second attempt at a GC).

My point being: Given all the ground I took, I found that increase in tanks way too big.