Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

HI - I'm interested in TOAWIII -Questions

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> Norm Koger's The Operational Art Of War III >> HI - I'm interested in TOAWIII -Questions Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
HI - I'm interested in TOAWIII -Questions - 1/14/2008 11:00:18 PM   
Koniev

Hi everybody -

I slipped over from the WiTP forum where I'm in the process of falling off the "learning cliff".

I used to play PacWar and WIR a lot. I'm studying WiTP as a "graduate course" in the Pacific Campaign.

I would like to find a more advanced WIR, And find a western front game. From what I've read so far TOAWIII seems to work for both. My questions are:

A] What is the learning curve like? If anybody has played WiTP, I'd like to see a comparison to that.

B] If I buy the download/physical setup, how many patches, upgrades etc. am I going to need and how difficult is the install for the game and the mods?

C] Rate the Ai as a learning tool and as an opponent.

D] How accurate historically is TOAWIII?

I realize that many of these questions are matters of opinion, but that's OK. I find that wargamers are inherantly honest and forthright.

Thanks all - please keep in mind my original wants and feel free to suggest another game if you think it fits better.

"Those who don't remember History are condemned to relive it" George Santayana
Post #: 1
RE: HI - I'm interested in TOAWIII -Questions - 1/15/2008 12:52:04 AM   
SMK-at-work

IMO:
A/ the learning curve is pretty steep - it's a complicated game with a lot to learn.  But once you have learned it's difficult to forget :)