Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

Sadly - Enough is Enough!

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [New Releases from Matrix Games] >> Shadow Empire >> Sadly - Enough is Enough! Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
Sadly - Enough is Enough! - 1/19/2022 9:18:49 PM   
JohnSiv

I have been playing war games for 60 years. I first encountered a 100+ page rule book somewhere around 1977 and have never had a problem with digging deep and working hard to understand all the rules. Complexity in war games has never troubled me but I have noted quite a number of times in my experience when the game developer simply got carried away and, quite literally, did not realize that he had managed to take all the fun out of the game.

I have just pushed the delete button on my Shadow Empire "saved games" at the 12th unsuccessful try at playing the game to conclusion...after probably 150 total hours or more of play.

I have read the rule book and I have read numerous pieces of advice on this forum as well as on the Steam forum.

Simply stated, my opinion is that the logistics rules, as currently implemented, kill all the fun in the game. I know that numerous posters have suggested this is the "greatest part" of the game. It is not.