Matrix Games Forums

Forums  Register  Login  Photo Gallery  Member List  Search  Calendars  FAQ 

My Profile  Inbox  Address Book  My Subscription  My Forums  Log Out

It is an amazing game

View related threads: (in this forum | in all forums)

Logged in as: Guest
Users viewing this topic: none
  Printable Version
All Forums >> [Current Games From Matrix.] >> [World War II] >> War In The Pacific - Struggle Against Japan 1941 - 1945 >> It is an amazing game Page: [1]
Login
Message << Older Topic   Newer Topic >>
It is an amazing game - 7/31/2004 8:15:15 PM   
magresh

I have been playing wargames since about 1970. Board games then. Rule books full of typos and maps that were incorrect. Some rules were ambiguous and some were just wrong. Each person had to figure it out on their own and make it work. Sometimes they might re-release a good game with some fixes (after a few years had gone by). Computers came along and we got some of the same problems and in the early days before patching was available, we had to figure it out and make it work again. The games today are played on home computers equivalent to super computers of ten years ago. And the games have been getting bigger and more detailed. This War in the Pacific game is the most ambitious undertaking to date and I am sometimes in awe that it is sitting there on my monitor and gives me a chance to fight, on either side, the entire Second World War in the Pacific. And at this level!